Guides to French Literature
Browse books and ebooks on:
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks PQ41 .N48 1995 and OnlinePublication Date: 1995This is a handbook to “literature in French,” with attempts to include Francophone literature. The Companion is not intended to be used as a full-scale, comprehensive encyclopedia; however, longer articles are signed and have a small bibliography.
The Cambridge Companion to French Literature by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2015Sixteen essays by leading specialists offer provocative insights into French literary culture, its genres, movements, themes, and historic turning points, including the cultural and linguistic challenges of today's multi-ethnic France.- Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Litteraires de Langue Francaise by This is an encyclopedic four-volume set which contains extensive signed articles on literary genres, themes, periods and people. Each article is followed by a very comprehensive bibliography. For articles on major authors or movements, a time-line compares their literary output with contemporary and biographical events. This is an excellent source for an overview of information and research on a topic or author, as well as for bibliographical information. It attempts to include all French and Francophone literature.Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ41 .B4 1994 )
A New History of French Literature by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks PQ119 .N48 1989 and OnlinePublication Date: 1989This volume presents French literature within an historical and cultural context, through a series of thematic essays centered around key dates in French literature (such as 1181) or history (such as 1789). The authors provide a bibliography for each essay.
The Cambridge Introduction to French Poetry by
The Cambridge Introduction to French Poetry is a comprehensive survey of French poetry. The poets discussed - all quoted in the original, followed by an English translation - belong to every period from the eleventh century to the present, and include Francophone authors from areas other than France. The goals of this Introduction are to provide tools for the analysis of French poems, while assessing ever-changing distinctions and hierarchies between verse and prose, forms and genres, and levels of style; and to give a sense of French poetry's endless quest for self-definition, by examining its ambivalent relations with political realities, philosophical ideas, and the achievements of other arts, notably music and painting.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PQ401 .S53 2003 )Publication Date: 2003-08-14
French Texts
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window The ARTFL Project consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.
- ATHENA e-texts e-texts from French and Swiss authors, over 10,000 links to books and other documents.
- Gallica (Bibliothèque nationale de France) Digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners. Online since 1997, it provides access to over 2 million documents. It is updated weekly with thousands of new materials. Areas include history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics and political science in all types of media: print (books, periodicals and press), manuscripts, documents, sound, iconographic documents, maps and plans.
- Littérature française Intra Text Full-text Digital Library offering books and corpora as lexical hypertexts on Creative Commons License
- The Oxford Text Archive The OTA collects, catalogues, preserves and distributes high-quality digital resources for research and teaching.
Finding Articles
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000. May be searched simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
Literary Biography
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000. May be searched simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
Historical Dictionary of French Literature by
With the possible exception of Great Britain, France can justifiably lay claim to possess the richest literary history of any country in Western Europe. This book covers the authors and their works, literary movements, and philosophical and social developments that have had a direct impact on style or content, and major historical events such as the two world wars, the Franco-Prussian War, the Algerian War, or the events of May 1968 that are directly reflected in a substantial body of imaginative writing. Historical Dictionary of French Literature, Second Edition contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 500 cross-referenced entries on individual writers and key texts, significant movements, groups, associations, and periodicals, and on the literary reactions to major national and international events such as revolutions and wars. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about French literature.
Location: Mugar Reference X ; PQ41 .F58 2022Publication Date: 2022
Dictionary of Modern French Literature by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PQ41 .D65 1986)Publication Date: 1986
Dictionnaire des écrivains de langue française by
Abridged edition (revised and updated) of the 1984 and 1994 editions of the Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ41 .B412 2001)Publication Date: 2001
Francophone Women Writers by
This anthology seeks to introduce women writers in the "global" Francophone world by investigating the place of feminist, postcolonial and cross-cultural theories in interpreting women francophone literature. The book also allows the reader to examine the extent to which women writers reflect or negate the conventional archetypes of Francophone literature, how they reinvent the political, cultural and critical discourse of their time and place, and create their own identity from objectification to subjectivity.The ambition of this anthology is to explore these themes at a time when globalization is redefining the concepts of language, identity, space and history, and transforming the rapport of each individual to the "other". While most research on the subject focus on specific countries or regions, this volume offers a new critical introduction to Francophone women authors from a broad geographical range in North and West Africa, the Near East, the Pacific, North America, the Caribbean Islands and Europe.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PQ149 .T68 2011 )Publication Date: 2011-05-31- Dictionnaire des écrivains francophones classiques : Afrique subsaharienne, Caraïbe, Maghreb, Machrek, Océan Indien byLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ3897 .C3 2010 )Publication Date: 2010
