Grammar / Pronunciation
French Grammar and Usage by
Long trusted as the most comprehensive, up-to-date and user-friendly grammar available, French Grammar and Usage is a complete guide to French as it is written and spoken today. It includes clear descriptions of all the main grammatical phenomena of French, and their use, illustrated by numerous examples taken from contemporary French, and distinguishes the most common forms of usage, both formal and informal. Key features include: Comprehensive content, covering all the major structures of contemporary French User-friendly organisation offering easy-to-find sections with cross-referencing and indexes of English words, French words and grammatical terms Clear and illuminating examples help students at all stage of their degree Useful indications of what cannot be said as well as what can Revised and updated throughout, this new edition offers updated examples to reflect current usage, new headers to include chapter number and section parts as well as enhanced cross-referencing for easier reference and expanded and more nuanced explanations of notoriously difficult points of grammar. The combination of reference grammar and manual of current usage is an invaluable resource for students and teachers of French at the intermediate to advanced levels. This Grammar is accompanied by the Practising French Grammar: A Workbook (available to purchase seaparately ISBN 978-1-13-885119-1) which features related exercises and activities and a companion website offering additional resources at www.routledge.com/cw/hawkins .
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2015- A Reference Grammar of Modern French by In English, the Reference Grammar offers an impressively detailed analysis of French grammatical structure, including the distinctions between textual organization in written and spoken French.Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PC2105 .J83 1985 )Publication Date: 1985
La Conjugaison: Dictionnaire de Douze Mille Verbes
The first volume of the Bescherelle series, this is perhaps the most useful tool (other than a dictionary) for writing in French. It lists all French verbs and provides references to tables of conjugations in all tenses.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PC2272 .C66 1990 )Publication Date: 1990- An Introduction to French Pronunciation by The intent of this book is to provide support for people who already have a basic knowledge of French pronunciation, so that they can “listen in an informed way” to spoken French — which is the best means of learning pronunciation. The international phonetic alphabet is used and basic phonetic terminology is introduced.Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2137 .P75 1991 )ISBN: 9780631154761Publication Date: 1991
Dictionnaire historique de l'orthographe française by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2141 .D53 1995 )Publication Date: 1995
Stylistics
Elements de Stylistique Francaise by
Molinie approaches stylistics from a linguistical background, distinguishing between “style” and “stylistique.” However he intends the book to be used to define and facilitate the use and analysis of a “maniere litteraire.”
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PC2410 .M55 1991 )Publication Date: 1991
Variations Stylistiques by
This advanced level course book teaches stylistic variations of modern French grammar using examples from films and interviews as well as other authentic texts. Written entirely in French, it focuses on the most difficult grammar points and their usage, rather than on their formation. "Variations stylistiques "includes an abundance of oral and written exercises that are practical, relevant, creative, and fun, encouraging students to use the grammar in meaningful contexts. By highlighting the many linguistic variants employed by native speakers, Dansereau provides an engaging alternative to traditional French grammar textbooks. An ancillary Web site features quizzes and other valuable resources for instructors.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
Beginning Translator's Workbook by
This workbook combines methodology and practice for beginning translators with a solid proficiency in French. It assumes a linguistic approach to the problems of translation and addresses common pitfalls, including the delineation of translation units, word polysemy, false cognates, and structural and cultural obstacles to literal translation. The first part of the book focuses on specific strategies used by professionals to counter these problems, including transposition, modulation, equivalence, and adaptation. The second part of the book provides a global application of the techniques taught in the opening sections, guiding the student through step-by-step translations of literary and non-literary excerpts.The revised edition clarifies some of the finer points of the translation techniques introduced in the first edition, provides extra practice exercises, and offers information on a website that can be used in class."
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
