Related Guides
Background Sources
- The Routledge History of American Foodways The Routledge History of American Foodways provides an important overview of the main themes surrounding the history of food in the Americas from the pre-colonial era to the present day. By broadly incorporating the latest food studies research, the book explores the major advances that have taken place in the past few decades in this crucial field.
- Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2nd ed.) Home cooks and gourmets, chefs and restaurateurs, epicures, and simple food lovers of all stripes will delight in this smorgasbord of the history and culture of food and drink. Professor of Culinary History Andrew Smith and nearly 200 authors bring together in 770 entries the scholarship on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.
- Encyclopedia of American Folklife This encyclopedia explores the rich and varied cultural traditions of folklife in America. Entries cover major cities and urban centers; new and established immigrant groups as well as Native Americans; U.S. states and territories; social issues, such as education and intellectual property; and expressions of material culture, such as homes, dress, food, and crafts.
- Foodways and Folklore: A Handbook In every land, various traditions, customs, and legends have developed around food. And because these diverse traditions are central to the multicultural character of the United States, ethnic foodlore permeates American society. From early Native American cultures to the modern influx of Asian and Middle Eastern immigrants, this book is an accessible introduction to foodlore and foodways.
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.
- Sundays at Moosewood Africa south of the Sahara; Armenia and the Middle East; British Isles; Caribbean; Chile; China; Eastern Europe; Finland; India -- Italy; Japan; Jewish; Mexico; New England; North Africa and the northeast African highlands; Provence; Southeast Asia; Southern United States. From the Moosewood Restaurant in Ithaca, New York, presents vegetarian recipes from around the world. Includes a section on cross-cultural menu planning as well as an extensive guide to ingredients, techniques, and equipment.
- The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink Offering a panoramic view of the history and culture of food and drink in America with fascinating entries on everything from the smell of asparagus to the history of White Castle, and the origin of Bloody Marys to jambalaya, the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink provides a concise, authoritative, and exuberant look at this modern American obsession.
- The Oxford Companion to Food Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.
