Featured Regional Recipe Booklet
Related Guides
Featured Books
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new windowBU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- BU Gastronomy Cookbook Library Catalog on LibraryThing Catalog of 3600+ cookbooks and other food studies titles held by the Cookbook Library, a non-circulating collection housed within the Gastronomy program in the Fuller Building,
Browse Books
- Oxford Food Symposium on Food and Cookery This link opens in a new window Contains proceedings from an annual symposium to share food research by scholars, enthusiastic amateurs, writers, and chefs from around the world. Volumes of Symposia proceedings prior to the most recent five years available via Google Books and as free downloads.
Historical New England Cookbooks
- American Cookery, by Amelia Simmons From the Feeding America Project at Michigan State University. The first cookbook written by an American for Americans. Simmons' book attempted to recognize and use American products, specifically corn, cranberries, turkey, squash and potatoes, all uniquely indigenous to the New World.
- Mrs. Lincoln's Boston Cook Book Mrs. Lincoln's Boston Cook Book: What To Do and What Not To Do in Cooking. By Mary Johnson Bailey Lincoln. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1884. From the Feeding America project, Michigan State University.
- The New-England Cookery From the Feeding America project at Michigan State University. This work is most interesting, and quite rare. It is essentially a pirated editon of Amelia Simmons' American Cookery (1798). Much of the title page is copied from American Cookery and much of the text is a verbatim copy of the Troy, New York edition of 1808 of that work.
- The New England Economical Housekeeper From the Feeding America project at Michigan State University. The New England Economical Housekeeper, and Family Receipt Book. Cincinatti: H.W. Derby, 1845. This volume represents both a regional cookbook - New England - and one devoted to economy and frugality. This latter aspect was very common in early American cookbooks.
- The Boston Cooking-School Cook Book, by Fannie Merritt Farmer Fannie Farmer, the author of this book, is perhaps the best known of the great American culinary authorities of the turn of the 19th to 20th centuries. And this book is arguably the best known and most influential of all American cookbooks. It has been in print from its first appearance in 1896 until the present day, although the newer editions are updated and revised so that Fannie might not easily recognize them. From its first printing it was a bestseller. From the Feeding America project at Michigan State University.
- The Frugal Housewife, by Lydia Maria Francis Child The Frugal Housewife was first published in Boston in 1829 and was reprinted at least four times in the next two years. By the eighth edition of 1832, the name had been changed to The American Frugal Housewife
- Beatrice A. Macintosh Cookery Collection, UMass Amherst The McIntosh Cookery Collection includes nearly 7,500 books, pamphlets, and ephemeral items relating to the history of cookery in New England. Although there are many commercially-produced cookbooks reflecting New England cuisine from the early 19th century forward, the heart of the collection lies in three areas: cookbooks prepared by community organizations, usually for fundraising or charitable purposes; cookbooks prepared by corporations as marketing tools; and ephemera associated with food production, marketing, or consumption.
