Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & other Background Sources
Encyclopedias
- The Business of Food: Encyclopedia of the Food and Drink Industries The business of food and drink is for better and worse the business of our nation and our planet, and to most consumers how it works remains largely a mystery. This encyclopedia takes readers as consumers behind the scenes of the food and drink industries. The contributors come from a wide range of fields, and the scope of this encyclopedia is broad, covering from food companies and brands to the environment, health, science and technology, culture, finance, and more.
- The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink Offering a panoramic view of the history and culture of food and drink in America with fascinating entries on everything from the smell of asparagus to the history of White Castle, and the origin of Bloody Marys to jambalaya, the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink provides a concise, authoritative, and exuberant look at this modern American obsession.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2nd ed.) Home cooks and gourmets, chefs and restaurateurs, epicures, and simple food lovers of all stripes will delight in this smorgasbord of the history and culture of food and drink. Professor of Culinary History Andrew Smith and nearly 200 authors bring together in 770 entries the scholarship on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.
- The Oxford Handbook of Food History This book chronicles the history of food. It starts with the Columbian Exchange, a term coined in 1972 by the historian Alfred Crosby to refer to the flow of plants, animals and microbes across the Atlantic Ocean and beyond. It then explores the spice trade during the medieval period, the social biography and politics of food, and how food history is connected with race and ethnicity in the United States. The book also focuses on cookbooks as an important primary source for historians;
- A Cultural History of Food A Cultural History of Food presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers nearly 3,000 years of food and its physical, spiritual, social and cultural dimensions.
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.
- Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition The role of nutrition in improving quality of life and combating disease is undeniable -- and researchers from different disciplines are bringing their perspectives to bear on this fundamental topic. The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition.
- Encyclopedia of Taboos The Encyclopedia of Taboos is a mine of unusual information from around the world, including a comprehensive analysis of individual taboos from the ancient world to the present day, covering both well- and lesser-known examples.
- They Eat That? A Cultural Encyclopedia of Weird and Exotic Food from Around the World This fun encyclopedia, organized A-Z, describes and offers cultural context for foodstuffs people eat today that might be described as "weird"--at least to the American palate.
- We eat what? : a cultural encyclopedia of unusual foods in the United States This fascinating encyclopedia examines over 100 foods that are unique to the United States as well as dishes found only in specific American regions and individual states.
- Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
- Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples.
- From Famine to Fast Food : Nutrition, Diet, and Concepts of Health around the World A country's food culture and eating habits directly impact the health and well-being of its citizens. Economic factors contribute to problems such as obesity and malnourishment. This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" disease.
- Street Food Around the World: An Encyclopedia of Food and Culture This encyclopedia surveys common street foods in about 100 countries and regions of the world, clearly depicting how "fast foods of the common people" fit into a country or a region's environments, cultural history, and economy.
- World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement. Articles also include specific foodstuffs such as chocolate, potatoes, and tomatoes; topics such as Mediterranean diet and the Spice Route; and pivotal figures such as Marco Polo, Columbus, and Catherine de' MΘdici. Special features include: dozens of recipes representing different historic periods and cuisines of the world; listing of herbal foods and uses; and a chronology of key events/people in food history.
- Ethnic American Food Today: A Cultural Encyclopedia A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines.
- Larousse Gastronomique : the World's Greatest Culinary Encyclopedia Larousse Gastronomique has been the foremost resource of culinary knowledge since its initial publication in 1938. Long revered for its encyclopedic entries on everything from cooking techniques, ingredients, and recipes to equipment, food histories, and culinary biographies, it is the one book every professional chef and avid home cook must have on his or her kitchen shelf.
- Oxford Companion to Italian Food The Oxford Companion to Italian Food covers all aspects of the history and culture of Italian gastronomy, from dishes, ingredients, and delicacies to cooking methods and implements, regional specialties, the universal appeal of Italian cuisine, influences from outside Italy, and much more.
- Encyclopedia of Pasta The long story of pasta in Italy is told through its great variety of shapes.
- Encyclopedia of Jewish Food A comprehensive, A-to-Z guide to Jewish foods, recipes, and culinary traditions.
Dictionaries & Other Background Sources
- Eating Your Words : 2000 Words to Tease Your Taste Buds Here is a feast of words that will whet the appetite of food and word lovers everywhere. William Grimes, former restaurant critic for The New York Times, covers everything from bird's nest soup to Trockenbeerenauslese in this wonderfully informative food lexicon
- Food History Almanac: Over 1,300 Years of World Culinary History, Culture, and Social Influence The Food History Almanac covers 365 days of the year, with information and anecdotes relating to food history from around the world from medieval times to the present.
- Food in Time and Place; the American Historical Association Companion to Food History Food in Time and Place delivers an unprecedented review of the state of historical research on food, endorsed by the American Historical Association, providing readers with a geographically, chronologically, and topically broad understanding of food cultures--from ancient Mediterranean and medieval societies to France and its domination of haute cuisine.
- A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition This dictionary offers jargon-free entries on food, nutrition, diet, and health that clearly explain even the most technical of nutritional terms.
- Food a Dictionary of Literal and Nonliteral Terms. 2000. This dictionary explores the relationship between the literal and the nonliteral (idiomatic and metaphorical) language of the cooking and eating of food. Each entry contains a description of the historical background of each of the two types of language, and the works that record the terms.
- WhatAmIEating.com Searchable online international food dictionary with 61,500 terms in 302 languages plus 12,690 plurals.
- Foodways and Folklore: A Handbook A comprehensive introduction to the folklore of food from the early Native American cultures to the multicultural cuisine of the present day.
- Native American Food Plants : an Ethnobotanical Dictionary In Native American Medicinal Plants, anthropologist Daniel E. Moerman describes the medicinal use of more than 2700 plants by 218 Native American tribes.
Bibliographies
- Bibliography of New Orleans Cookbooks This annotated bibliography is a continuing list of New Orleans cookbooks dating from the earliest to be found (1885) to the present. We -- the New Orleans Culinary History Consortium -- have defined our project to include all books about New Orleans food.
- Food History: A Bibliographic Database The Food Bibliography is an on-line resource providing a growing data base of bibliographic materials for researchers in the field of food history and, more generally, food studies.
- Philosophy of Food Project Bibliography The Philosophy of Food Project is housed in the Department of Philosophy and Religion at the University of North Texas. It aims to disseminate information about the philosophical investigation of food; increase the visibility of food as a topic for philosophical research; serve as a resource for researchers, teachers, students, and the public; galvanize a community of philosophers working on food issues; and help raise the level of public discourse about food, agriculture, animals, and eating.
- St. Joseph's Table Bibliography The St. Joseph's Table is a ritual meal done by Sicilians and Sicilian-Americans in fulfillment of a promise made to St. Joseph for his assistance in a time of family or personal crises.
