Databases
- Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics This link opens in a new window
Includes balance of payments and international investment position (IIP) data of individual countries, jurisdictions, and other reporting entities, and regional and world totals for major components of the balance of payments. Balance of payments data are available for over 200 economies and international investment position data are available for over 100 economies.
- Bloomberg Business News Service This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Business News Service provides up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Records includes equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives. Much of the information can be presented graphically.
Only available through the Bloomberg Terminal at Pardee Library (no remote access).
- China Data Online This link opens in a new windowSubscription to China Statistical Databases through China Data Center which provides comprehensive updated information on China’s economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, City Statistics, County Statistics, Industrial Statistics and Statistical Yearbooks. BU’s subscription is limited to 14 China Statistical Databases.
- Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new windowTime series data from 1980-present detailing the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. Includes total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group levels. The database contains over 100,000 time series covering more than 180 countries and areas.
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Reports This link opens in a new window
Each country page in the EIU database provides forecast updates and featured analysis on economic and political events as well as content pertaining to market opportunities, government regulations and the financial services sector.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Debt Statistics (Formerly Global Development Finance Online) focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Data is from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases.
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowInternational Financial Statistics (IFS) from the International Monetary Fund includes data on exchange rates, international interest rates, prices, production, and international transactions (including balance of payments), as well as individual country government, finance, and national account data for individual countries.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window In-depth company information and financials for international public companies. Allows you to export financials into Excel and create company comparisons using ratios and other financial metrics. Good source for annual reports and company 10K’s. Provides access to research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Click on the Investext tab to access the analyst reports.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Subscription predominately covers products and markets in the U.S. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. *For quick and easy access to downloadable data, all reports now include Mintel's Interactive Databooks.
- MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed consumer product and media data collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers. Data includes: demographics, product usage and media exposure. See MRI-Simmons Catalyst for instructions.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
- Policy Map This link opens in a new window Easy-to-use online mapping and visualization tool. Downloadable U.S. demographic, economic and social data by city, state, zip code, county or census tract. Types of data include crime, housing, health, education and occupations, derived from both public and proprietary sources.
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets.
- SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods Core is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
- Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) This link opens in a new window Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) provides media advertising rates, contact information, circulation information, etc. for magazine, newspaper, television, direct marketing, radio, online, and out-of-home domestic and international markets. Claritas SMS provides demographic and consumer market segmentation data by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Users can access pre-defined report templates to generate Pop-Facts Demographics Reports and Segmentation Reports.
- Statistical Insight (via Boston Public Library) Indexes U.S. Federal statistics (1973-present), state government and business statistics (1980-present), and international statistics (1880-present). Full-text coverage: 2004-present (U.S. Federal), 2007-present (state, business, international).
- Value Line This link opens in a new window Provides market and financial data on companies, industries, mutual funds and other securities. Includes online access to the Value Line Investment Surveys for over 1,000 companies in over 90 industries. The Value Line Investment Surveys include historical and current financial results, price and earnings projections, and financial commentaries.
- Vivvix This link opens in a new windowReports advertising expenditures by brand in twelve major media: Network TV, Cable TV, Syndication, Spot TV, Magazines, Sunday Magazines, National Newspapers, Newspapers, Network Radio, National Spot Radio, US Internet – Display and Outdoor. Please remember to log-out after every use. There is a Sign Out link in the upper right-hand corner of the database.
- Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) provides comprehensive sources of financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking, and insurance data. The Boston University subscription includes the following datasets: Audit Analytics: Compustat Global; Compustat North America; CRSP – Center for Research in Security Prices; CRSP – Mutual Fund; CUSIP Master File; Eventus; Institutional Shareholder Services (formerly RiskMetrics); MSCI ESG KLD Stats; Thomson Reuters; RavenPack News Analytics (Dow Jones Edition).
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) contains statistics from over 200 countries including social, economic and financial indicators.
Additional Databases
For more databases, check Business Databases: A-Z or the main BU Libraries Databases A-Z page.
