Related Guides
Background Sources
Some helpful sources as you begin your research:
Africana by
Ninety years after W.E.B. Du Bois first articulated the need for "the equivalent of a black Encyclopedia Britannica," Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates Jr., realized his vision by publishing Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience in 1999. This new, greatly expanded edition of the original work broadens the foundation provided by Africana. Including more than one million new words, Africana has been completely updated and revised. New entries on African kingdoms have been added, bibliographies now accompany most articles, and theencyclopedia's coverage of the African diaspora in Latin America and the Caribbean has been expanded, transforming the set into the most authoritative research and scholarly reference set on the African experience ever created. More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. African American history and culture in the present-day United States receive astrong emphasis, but African American history and culture throughout the rest of the Americas and their origins in African itself have an equally strong presence. The articles that make up Africana cover subjects ranging from affirmative action to zydeco and span over four million years from theearlies-known hominids , to Sean "Diddy" Combs. With entries ranging from the African ethnic groups to members of the Congressional Black Caucus, Africana, Second Edition, conveys the history and scope of cultural expression of people of African descent with unprecedented depth.
Call Number: African Studies Library Reference (DT14 .A37435 2005 )Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Africa South of the Sahara.
The definitive one-volume guide to all sub-Saharan African countries, providing invaluable economic, political, statistical and directory data. General Survey Thoroughly revised and updated analytical articles written by experts on the region and covering both continent-wide and sub-regional issues. Country Surveys Individual chapters on every country incorporating: essays on the physical and social geography, recent history and economies an extensive statistical survey of economic indicators a full directory containing names, addresses and contact details for key areas such as the government, diplomatic representation, the media, finance, trade and industry, and defence a useful bibliography, providing sources for further research. Regional Information Detailed information on regional organizations; commodities; research institutes; and select bibliographies of books and periodicals. (Description, Abebooks.com)
Call Number: African Studies Library- Reference (DT351 .F71)Publication Date: 2016
Historical Dictionaries of Africa Series
This Historical Dictionaries of Africa series is country specific and provides historical information through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has several hundred cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. The books in this series are an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about African countries" Be sure to look for the most recent editions.
Government Documents at Boston University
Locating Government Documents at the African Studies Library can sometimes take a bit of practice. Quirks of library history and space restrictions have led to an unusual shelving arrangement. Please always feel free to ask for assistance at the ASL reference desk; we are happy to help!
There are two categories of goverment publications in our library: JDOCs (generally pre- 198--) and African Docs. JDOCS and African Docs may be shelved either on the 6th floor general stacks or in the Reading Room, with smaller publications generally being housed in the reading room. It therefore may be necessary to check both the general Mugar Stacks and the Reading Room to locate the desired item.
African Documents
African Documents
These are the Government Documents that the library received after 1983. These documents are listed in our online catalog and will have a location of African Studies Library Document Collection.
Other Sources of Government Documents
- (List of Foreign Governments via Northwestern University) Many government documents are now published online. For example: South Africa
- Internet ArchiveUsing the top search box will search text, audio and film. Many older books and dictionaries can be found digitized in this collection.
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies