Related Guides
Grove Art Online
Grove Art OnlineGrove Art Online provides broad national and regional overviews and shorter essays on individual artists, kinds of art, and significant, individual works of art and architecture. Most entries include basic bibliographies.
Histories & Surveys
The Arts of Asia: materials, techniques, styles by
Each material is studied in turn - jade, silk, porcelain, lacquer, ivory, bamboo, paper, gold, stone and wood - with clear explanations of the techniques used in the artistic process, from ancient prehistory to the art of the present day.
Location: Mugar Stacks N7260 .M33 2005
Asian Art by
Comprehensive anthology of important primary documents and key contemporary scholarship on Asian art history. Traces the rich artistic traditions in China, Japan, Korea, India, and Southeast Asia across time periods, media, cultural contexts, and geography
Location: Mugar Stacks N7260 .A815 2006
Asian Art History in the Twenty-First Century by
Asian Art History in the Twenty-First Century explores the field of Asian art and its historiography, tensions, and possible future directions. It features essays by fourteen leading authors specializing in Chinese, East Asian, Indian, and Japanese art history.
Location: Mugar Stacks N7260 .A816 2007
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture by
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture presents a collection of 26 original essays from top scholars in the field that explore and critically examine various aspects of Asian art and architectural history.
Publication Date: 2012
Dictionary of South and Southeast Asian Art by
From abhayamudra through ziarat, this is an essential dictionary for anyone stepping into the fascinating world of South and Southeast Asian art. With over 700 entries, 78 line illustrations, and 15 color photographs, this basic dictionary makes a handy reference for anyone interested and engaged in South and Southeast Asia.
Location: Mugar Stacks N7300 .C475 2000
Indian Art by
Survey through 5000 years of Indian art and architecture. A rich artistic tradition is fully explored through the Hindu, Buddhist, Islamic, Colonial, and contemporary periods, incorporating discussion of modern Bangladesh and Pakistan, tribal artists, and the decorative arts.
Location: Mugar Stacks N7301 .M58 2001
History of Far Eastern Art by
Extensively-illustrated, comprehensive survey history of Far Eastern art - from 5000 B.C. to A.D. 1860
Location: Mugar Stacks N7336 .L43 1994
Central Asian Cultures, Arts, and Architecture by
Through transcontinental passages such as the Silk Road, the book provides links among the major civilizations of China, India, Persia, and the Mediterranean, which in turn influences the characteristics of the region and beyond. For over seven thousand years, Central Asian residents have left a record of distinguished cultural artifacts.
Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Asian Mythology by
Meet the elephant-headed Hindu god Ganesa, and Chang O, the Lunar Toad who is Chinese goddess of the Moon. In handy A-to-Z format, here are the stories of the revered deities, sacred places, key events and epics, and recurring themes and traditions that make up the rich and varied fabric ofAsian mythology. Entries address the key mythologies of India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan.
Publication Date: 2001
Photography in Southeast Asia: a survey by
Photography in Southeast Asia: A Survey is a comprehensive attempt to map the emergence and trajectories of photographic practices in Southeast Asia. Illustrated with some 200 photographs, and with individual chapters dedicated to the countries of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, The Philippines and Vietnam.
Location: Mugar Stacks TR113.S6 Z48 2016
