Featured Primary Source Sites
Some of these resources may require authentication for access, especially for remote access. In that case, use BU kerberos log-in & password. Some of the resources provide alphabetical list of countries, including African countries. Select the African country/ies individually you are seeking information on.
- FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service), 1974-1996Presents translated broadcasts, newspaper articles, news wires, and government statements from around the world. Succeeded by World News Connection.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
- Congressional UniverseIndex and some full-text of U.S. Congressional hearings, committee prints, bills, legislative histories.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collections of primary documents released through the Freedom of Information Act. Includes many aspects of U.S. foreign policy and military policy from 1945 to the present. Overlaps with U.S. Declassified Documents but has more recent documents.
- White House.gov- Foreign Policy Issues - Subsaharan Africa sectionNews & updates on foreign policy issues related to Africa.
- World Wide Diplomatic Archives IndexA guide to the accessibility of diplomatic archives around the world. This current list is based on information received from American diplomatic posts abroad, as well as web sources and communication with the archives themselves. The information provided here is subject to change so researchers are advised to contact the government or archive ahead of any planned visit.
Executive Branch Documents
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesThe Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department’s Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
volumes published since 1945 are available online on the State Department website that is maintained by the University of Illinois at Chicago. A full description of Foreign Relations of the United States, including a listing of the online FRUS volumes, is available from the Office of the Historian website. - Historical information on U.S. relations with countries of the WorldHistorical reference information on aspects of the United States’ relations with the countries of the world.
The central component is a guide to matters of diplomatic recognition and the establishment and maintenance of diplomatic relations between the United States and states of the world, from 1776 to the present.
American Presidency Project (home)
- Presidential Candidates Debates • 1960 – 2004 Transcripts
Presidential Libraries (many libraries now include audiovisual materials such as speeches)
Public papers of the presidents of the United States
(GPO Access) partial set online
Complete print set (1931-1932/33, 1945-2002 v.2+) at Mugar Library J80 .F57
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents 1993+ online
Published every Monday – “the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary”.
A compilation of the messages and papers of the presidents…v.1-20
(1897-22) J81 .E97
Washington Notes on Africa
Archived newsletter from African Activist Archive. Items appear in chronological order. Use Advanced Search to select a smaller group of results.
Legislative Branch
- Congressional Record via GPO Access 1994+
- GPO Access
- Lexis Nexis Congressional BU-px This is a selective database.
Mugar Library and/or the Law Library have a full range of CIS documents on microfiche, with access through the web catalog (search: 'your term' and cis ). The microfiche are arranged by CIS Microfiche Accession Numbers in the NOTES field of the catalog record. Full text links are provided where available. The CIS index to publications of the United States Congress [Mugar Reference X Z 1249 F70] abstracts all congressional hearings and prints, arranged by committees; yearly bound volumes index publications by subject, document numbers, bill title, and names of persons involved. - Thomas
- see also Finding Legislative Information
