Getting Books Not Available at BU
There are several ways you can obtain books or articles that we do not own. These include:
-
WorldCat Discovery. WorldCat Discovery allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to borrow books directly from other Boston Library Consortium libraries. Turnaround time is approximately three working days. (How to use WorldCat Discovery)
-
Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services allow current BU faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that our ILL staff will obtain from other libraries. Books generally take 2-4 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.
-
ILL online request forms for all patrons except those affiliated with the Schools of Law and Medicine
-
Law Library's interlibrary loan page for Law School affiliates
-
Alumni Medical Library’s ILL form for Medical School affilliates
-
For general inquires to the Interlibrary Loan office, please call (617) 353-3706 or email ILLMML@bu.edu.
-
- BLC Cards. A Boston Library Consortium Card allows the bearer to borrow—in person—circulating material from a member library, just as you would from a BU library. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form. Medical Campus affiliates apply at the Alumni Medical Library.
Africa & United States Relations - Contemporary History
Click on the cover to access the ebook:
Africa Policy beyond the Bush Years by Location: DT38.7 .U16 2009ISBN: 9780892065646Publication Date: 2009-04-10
U. S. - Africa Relations: from Clinton to Obama. by
U.S.-Africa Relations: From Clinton to Obama is an examination and analysis of U.S.-Africa relations during the Clinton, George W. Bush, and Obama administrations. It covers the entire continent with an inclusion of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Nigeria, South Africa, Ethiopia, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Uganda, and Rwanda. Some of the issues addressed in the analysis include the militarization of Africa within the context of the war on terror and the creation of the Africa Command; the Arab Spring and questions concerning the U.S. role in Egypt, Tunisia, and Libya; the Great Lakes region and the role or lack thereof of the United States, beginning with a discussion of U.S. support for various leaders from Mobutu (DRC) to Kabila (DRC) to Kagame (Rwanda), and Museveni (Uganda) who did and do not act in accordance with the U.S. policy of encouraging democracy. The role of Africans in U.S.-Africa relations is examined in the book. For example, many African leaders expressed their disapproval of the creation of the Africa Command, and African leaders refused to have it housed on their soil. The book discusses how African leaders and Africans can work with the United States to encourage economic development by establishing and upholding the rule of law, respecting human rights, and creating and maintaining transparency in the government and business activities. The role of African-descended people in U.S.-Africa relations is also addressed in terms of African American celebrities, scholars, and businesspeople. In sum, it appears on the surface that the United States has become more involved in African affairs due to new post-Cold War realities--it is the only remaining superpower; the war on terror extends to Africa; more Africans have migrated to the United States; and trade relations have deepened due to the Africa Growth and Opportunity Act and the need to import oil and gas from various African countries. At the same time, the U.S. policy has not veered far from national security interests and the promotion of democracy regardless of who is in the White House.
Location: DT38.7 .U25 2014ISBN: 9780739190036Publication Date: 2014-06-17
United States Foreign Policy Toward Africa by Location: DT38 .W45 1994ISBN: 9780521444392Publication Date: 1994-02-03
South Africa and the United States by
"In recent years," writes TransAfrica executive director Randall Robinson in the preface to this volume, "there has been no graver moral-political crisis facing the world than apartheid." For that reason, the prospect of representative democracy in South Africa ranks as one of the most extraordinary sociopolitical achievements of the late twentieth century. Throughout much of the era of repressive white rule, the United States has maintained a complex and often supportive geopolitical and economic relationship with South Africa's notorious apartheid regime. As that regime comes to its inevitable end, the role of U.S. policy--from the Sharpeville massacre in 1960 to the release of African National Congress leader Nelson Mandela in 1990--can now be examined and understood. South Africa and the United States: The Declassified History makes available, for the first time, the most important internal U.S. government documents on U.S. policy toward South Africa over the last thirty years. Obtained by the National Security Archive through the Freedom of Information Act, this rich and revealing collection includes formerly top secret presidential decision directives, CIA memoranda, State Department policy papers, embassy cables, Defense Intelligence Agency assessments, and other recently declassified documents. Taken together, they dramatically record years of U.S. efforts to prop up the Afrikaner regime, and the evolution of Washington's policies in the face of mounting domestic and international opposition to the world's last racially based political system. Among the many revelations in this remarkable volume are details of the Reagan administration's secret propaganda plan to defuse public and congressional support for economic sanctions; the U.S. role in the development of South Africa's nuclear weapons capability; and Henry Kissinger's controversial diplomatic and covert campaigns throughout the southern African region. The context for the declassified documents in South Africa and the United States is provided by concise, authoritative essays on U.S. sanctions policy, the history of nuclear collaboration, and U.S. reaction to upheavals in Angola, Mozambique, and elsewhere in the region. To supplement the narrative and the documents, the volume also provides an in-depth chronology and comprehensive glossaries. The result is an accessible and intriguing documentary history of one of the most significant international issues of our time.
Location: E183.8.S6 S68 1993ISBN: 156584081XPublication Date: 1994-02-01
The African Foreign Policy of Secretary of State Henry Kissinger by
The African Foreign Policy of Secretary of State Henry Kissinger outlines in clear, comprehensive terms the details of Secretary of State Henry Kissinger's foreign policy toward Africa and how that policy related to other aspects of his global viewpoint. For the first time, editors Hanes Walton, Jr., Robert Louis Stevenson, and James Bernard Rosser bring together a diverse collection of public documents, speeches, and congressional presentations for critical analysis and in-depth discussion. This book presents an intellectual evaluation of governmental sources to determine the kinds of foreign policy proposals and programs that Kissinger developed for the various crises and problems which were under way in Africa. The essays demonstrate how Kissinger used his brand of shuttle diplomacy to set up delicate negotiations to ease the new international tensions and the power-rivalry. The African Foreign Policy of Secretary of State Henry Kissinger offers important insight that will stimulate debate and be a lively read for those interested in international politics and political science.
Location: DT38.7 .W35 2007ISBN: 9780739117866Publication Date: 2010
Browse books and e-books in the BU collections on Africa & United States Relations in general.
United States & African countries - Security & military relations
Conflicting Missions: Havana, Washington, and Africa, 1959-1976 by
This is a compelling and dramatic account of Cuban policy in Africa from 1959 to 1976 and of its escalating clash with U.S. policy toward the continent. Piero Gleijeses's fast-paced narrative takes the reader from Cuba's first steps to assist Algerian rebels fighting France in 1961, to the secret war between Havana and Washington in Zaire in 1964-65--where 100 Cubans led by Che Guevara clashed with 1,000 mercenaries controlled by the CIA--and, finally, to the dramatic dispatch of 30,000 Cubans to Angola in 1975-76, which stopped the South African advance on Luanda and doomed Henry Kissinger's major covert operation there. Based on unprecedented archival research and firsthand interviews in virtually all of the countries involved--Gleijeses was even able to gain extensive access to closed Cuban archives--this comprehensive and balanced work sheds new light on U.S. foreign policy and CIA covert operations. It revolutionizes our view of Cuba's international role, challenges conventional U.S. beliefs about the influence of the Soviet Union in directing Cuba's actions in Africa, and provides, for the first time ever, a look from the inside at Cuba's foreign policy during the Cold War. "Fascinating . . . and often downright entertaining. . . . Gleijeses recounts the Cuban story with considerable flair, taking good advantage of rich material.--Washington Post Book World "Gleijeses's research . . . bluntly contradicts the Congressional testimony of the era and the memoirs of Henry A. Kissinger. . . . After reviewing Dr. Gleijeses's work, several former senior United States diplomats who were involved in making policy toward Angola broadly endorsed its conclusions.--New York Times "With the publication of Conflicting Missions, Piero Gleijeses establishes his reputation as the most impressive historian of the Cold War in the Third World. Drawing on previously unavailable Cuban and African as well as American sources, he tells a story that's full of fresh and surprising information. And best of all, he does this with a remarkable sensitivity to the perspectives of the protagonists. This book will become an instant classic.--John Lewis Gaddis, author of We Now Know: Rethinking Cold War History Based on unprecedented research in Cuban, American, and European archives, this is the compelling story of Cuban policy in Africa from 1959 to 1976 and of its escalating clash with U.S. policy toward the continent. Piero Gleijeses sheds new light on U.S. foreign policy and CIA covert operations, revolutionizes our view of Cuba's international role, and provides the first look from the inside at Cuba's foreign policy during the Cold War. -->
Location: DT38.9.C9 G57 2002ISBN: 9780807854648Publication Date: 2003-02-24
More Than Humanitarianism: A Strategic Approach Toward Africa by
This Council-sponsored Independent Task Force Report argues that Africa is becoming steadily more central to the United States and to the rest of the world in ways that transcend humanitarian interests. Africa now plays an increasingly significant role in supplying energy, preventing the spread of terrorism, and halting the devastation of HIV/AIDS. Africa's growing importance is reflected in the intensifying competition with China and other countries for both access to African resources and influence in this region. A more comprehensive U.S. policy toward Africa is needed, the report states, and it lays out recommendations for policymakers to craft that policy.
Location: DT38.7 .M674 2006ISBN: 9780876093535Publication Date: 2006-02-01
NATO, the Warsaw Pact and Africa by Location: UA855 .C64 1985ISBN: 0312560664Publication Date: 1985-08-01
US Strategy in Africa by
This book outlines the construction, interpretations and understanding of US strategy towards Africa in the early twenty-first century. No single issue or event in the recent decades in Africa has provoked so much controversy and unified hostility and opposition as the announcement by former President George W. Bush of the establishment of the United Stated Africa Command - AFRICOM. The intensity and sheer scale of the unprecedented unity of opposition to AFRICOM across Africa surprised many experts and lead them to ask why such a hostile reaction occurred. This book explores the conception of AFRICOM and the subsequent reaction in two ways. Firstly, the contributors critically engage with the creation and global imperatives for the establishment of AFRICOM and present an analytical outline of African security in relation to and within the context of the history of US foreign and security policy approaches to Africa. Secondly, the book has original chapter contributions by some of the key actors involved in the development and implementation of the AFRICOM project including Theresa Whelan, the former US Deputy Assistant Secretary for African Affairs. This is not only an attempt to contribute to the academic and policy-relevant debates based on the views of those who are intimately involved in the design and implementation of the AFRICOM project but also to show, in their own words, that 'America has no clandestine agenda for Africa'. This book will be of interest to students of US foreign policy/national security, strategic studies, international security and African politics. David J. Francisis Chair of African Peace & Conflict Studies in the Department of Peace Studies at the University of Bradford.
Location: UA855 .U77 2010ISBN: 9780415485104Publication Date: 2010-02-17
The Dark Sahara: America's war on terror in Africa by
This book reveals the secret US agenda behind the 'war on terror' in Africa and the shocking methods used to perpetuate the myth that the region is a hotbed of Islamic terrorism.Africa expert Jeremy Keenan points to overwhelming evidence suggesting that, from 2003, the Bush administration and Algerian government were responsible for hostage takings blamed on Islamic militants. This created a permissive public attitude, allowing the US to establish military bases in the region and pursue multiple imperial objectives in the name of security.The shocking revelations in this book undermine the mainstream view of Africa as a legitimate 'second front' in the 'war on terror'.
Location: E183.8.S6 S68 1993ISBN: 9780745324524Publication Date: 2009-05-20
Browse books and e-books in the BU collections on Security or military relations between African countries & the US.
US & African countries - Economic relations & assistance
U. S. Economic Policy Toward Africa by
Location: DT38.7 .H47 1992ISBN: 0876091214Publication Date: 1992-11-01
Smart Aid for African Development by
'Smart Aid for African Development' provides critical assessments of the main components of foreign assistance, considering how smarter use can be made of available resources to advance growth and democracy, rebuild war-torn societies, and reduce the crippling poverty that underlies many of the continent's fierce conflicts.
Location: HC800 .S58 2009ISBN: 9781588266064Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Oil and Terrorism in the New Gulf: framing U.S. energy and security policies for the Gulf of Guinea by
Oil and Terrorism in the New Gulf examines the national security implications of U.S. energy security policies in the Middle East, and the emerging U.S. involvement in oil exploration and extraction in West Africa. Similar political, social, and economic challenges--poverty, corruption, lack of infrastructure, and weak governments--are seen in the oil-producing states of both the Middle East and Africa. Drawing comparisons between these two regions allows Forest and Sousa to formulate policy recommendations for how to handle foreign policy toward Africa in the future based on lessons learned from past interaction with the Middle East. Oil and Terrorism in the New Gulf promises to inform a lively debate over the future of U.S. foreign policies toward Africa and is a valuable resource for policymakers and the academic community that should be approached in a coherent, integrated fashion to ensure the success of the United State's energy and national security agendas.
Location: JZ1480.A56 F67 2006ISBN: 9780739119952Publication Date: 2006-11-14
The Charitable Inpulse by
This collection seeks to examine the expanding role of NGOs in relief & development in East & North East Africa, & the process of professionalization & structural change that the experiences of operating in this geographical area have wrought. The case-study approach is intended to examine the issues & debates surrounding NGOs within a spatial context. Many of the questions current in the contemporary debates have their roots in the experiences of the past, or are repetitions in new forms of older arguments. The issue of accountability is one of the central themes throughout the collection, in both the analyses of emergency humanitarian action & in social & economic development strategies. Both modes of operation involve choices, & the process by which these decisions are made, & the impact they have are critical to the understanding of the NGO.
Location: HV438 .C53 2001ISBN: 9781565491373Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Beyond Humanitarianism: what you need to know about Africa and why it matters by
From Mugabe's Zimbabwe to conflict in the Horn, Africa has moved off the back burner of U.S. foreign policy. In 2006 the Council on Foreign Relations published a Task Force report that, according to the U.S. Department of State, "raised the profile of Africa among policymakers." Now the Council and Foreign Affairs, its signature journal, bring us Beyond Humanitarianism, a citizen's guide to deconstructing the complex issues and conflicts on the African continent and clarifying what's at stake for the United States in Africa's future. Drawing on articles from Foreign Affairs and the Council's website, CFR.org, as well as the Task Force report itself, Beyond Humanitarianism serves as a primer on the issues that are in the news --as well as those that are not. It also provides an excellent introduction to debates about the future of the continent and the U.S.-Africa relationship.
Location: DT38.7 .B49 2007ISBN: 9780876093719Publication Date: 2007-07-25
The United States and Africa by
Tracing the reciprocal relationship between Africa and North America from the seventeenth-century slave trade onwards, two leading authorities in the field provide a major revision to traditional colonial African history as well as to US history. Departing from prior accounts that tended to emphasise only the role of the colonial metropoles in developing Africa, the authors show how American pioneers - missionaries, traders, prospectors, miners, engineers, scientists, and others - have helped to shape Africa. They also point to the equally important impact made by Africa on the United States through trade and immigration, and through the influence of Africans on the arts and agriculture, among other facets of American life. In a study of exceptionally broad scope, the authors devote particular attention to the development of United States policy regarding Africa, the impact of private enterprise, the operation of governmental lobbies, the administration of foreign aid, and the involvement of Africa in the Cold War.
Location: DT38 .D85 1984ISBN: 9780521262026Publication Date: 1984-12-28
Diversity in Development by
Who belongs to the nation? How is citizenship defined? And why have such identities become so politically explosive in recent years? This book explores the instrumental manipulation of citizenship and narrowing definitions of national-belonging which refract recent political struggles in Zimbabwe, Cote d Ivoire, Cameroon, Somalia, Tanzania, and South Africa. Conflicts which have arisen over the resources of the post-colonial state are increasingly legitimated through recourse to claims of nationhood and citizenship. The contributors address the historical roots of national and ethnic identities, the material and symbolic resources which are contested within states, and the relative importance of elite manipulation and subaltern agency.
Location: HC60 .D526 (African Studies Library Reference)ISBN: 9780932140074Publication Date: 1987-08-01
Find more books/ebooks on economic relations of United States & African countries.
U.S. engagement with African countries on democracy & human rights
Toward sustainable democracy in Africa : can U.S. policy make a difference? by
While Africa is too often regarded as lying on the periphery of the global political arena, this is not the case. African nations have played an important historical role in world affairs. It is with this understanding that the authors in this volume set out upon researching and writing their chapters, making an important collective contribution to our understanding of modern Africa. Taken as a whole, the chapters represent the range of research in African development, and fully tie this development to the global political economy. African nations play significant roles in world politics, both as nations influenced by the ebbs and flows of the global economy and by the international political system, but also as actors, directly influencing politics and economics. It is only through an understanding of both the history and present place of Africa in global affairs that we can begin to assess the way forward for future development.
Location: DT30.5 S22 1993Publication Date: 2013-06-07- U. S. - Africa Relations : from Clinton to Obama by
U.S.-Africa Relations: From Clinton to Obama is an examination and analysis of U.S.-Africa relations during the Clinton, George W. Bush, and Obama administrations. It covers the entire continent with an inclusion of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Nigeria, South Africa, Ethiopia, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Uganda, and Rwanda. Some of the issues addressed in the analysis include the militarization of Africa within the context of the war on terror and the creation of the Africa Command; the Arab Spring and questions concerning the U.S. role in Egypt, Tunisia, and Libya; the Great Lakes region and the role or lack thereof of the United States, beginning with a discussion of U.S. support for various leaders from Mobutu (DRC) to Kabila (DRC) to Kagame (Rwanda), and Museveni (Uganda) who did and do not act in accordance with the U.S. policy of encouraging democracy. The role of Africans in U.S.-Africa relations is examined in the book. For example, many African leaders expressed their disapproval of the creation of the Africa Command, and African leaders refused to have it housed on their soil. The book discusses how African leaders and Africans can work with the United States to encourage economic development by establishing and upholding the rule of law, respecting human rights, and creating and maintaining transparency in the government and business activities. The role of African-descended people in U.S.-Africa relations is also addressed in terms of African American celebrities, scholars, and businesspeople. In sum, it appears on the surface that the United States has become more involved in African affairs due to new post-Cold War realities--it is the only remaining superpower; the war on terror extends to Africa; more Africans have migrated to the United States; and trade relations have deepened due to the Africa Growth and Opportunity Act and the need to import oil and gas from various African countries. At the same time, the U.S. policy has not veered far from national security interests and the promotion of democracy regardless of who is in the White House.
Location: DT38.7 .U25 2014ISBN: 9780739190036Publication Date: 2014-06-17
- More Than Humanitarianism: A Strategic Approach Toward Africa by
This Council-sponsored Independent Task Force Report argues that Africa is becoming steadily more central to the United States and to the rest of the world in ways that transcend humanitarian interests. Africa now plays an increasingly significant role in supplying energy, preventing the spread of terrorism, and halting the devastation of HIV/AIDS. Africa's growing importance is reflected in the intensifying competition with China and other countries for both access to African resources and influence in this region. A more comprehensive U.S. policy toward Africa is needed, the report states, and it lays out recommendations for policymakers to craft that policy.
Location: DT38.7 .M674 2006ISBN: 9780876093535Publication Date: 2006-02-01
East Africa and the Horn by
Both the obstacles to governance and the opportunities for democratization confronted in East Africa - with its geostrategic importance, porous borders, governments heavily dependent on foreign aid, and some of Africa's longest-running conflicts - provide valuable insights into how good governance policies can be implemented effectively throughout the developing world. East Africa and the Horn explores these regional constraints and opportunities, focusing on issues of civil society, the ubiquitous trade in small arms and light weapons, large numbers of refugees, tensions around national identity, and the legacy of U.S. policy. The authors also underscore the need for even peaceful countries in the region to proactively address potentially destabilizing issues in neighboring states.
Location: JQ2945.A58 E23 2006ISBN: 9781588263797Publication Date: 2005-08-01- Human rights and US African policy under President Carter by
The Political Economy of Africa addresses the real possibilities for African development in the coming decades when seen in the light of the continent's economic performance over the last half-century. This involves an effort to emancipate our thinking from the grip of western economic models that have often ignored Africa's diversity in their rush to peddle simple nostrums of dubious merit. The book addresses the seemingly intractable economic problems of the African continent, and traces their origins. It also brings out the instances of successful economic change, and the possibilities for economic revival and renewal. As well as surveying the variety of contemporary situations, the text will provide readers with a firm grasp of the historical background to the topic. It explores issues such as: employment and poverty social policy and security structural adjustment programs and neo-liberal globalization majority rule and democratization taxation and resource mobilization. It contains a selection of country specific case studies from a range of international contributors, many of whom have lived and worked in Africa. The book will be of particular interest to higher level students in political economy, development studies, area studies (Africa) and economics in general.
Location: DT38 .J54MISBN: 9782276480Publication Date: 1980
Browse for more books on United States's role in democracy & human rights in Africa
