Related Guides
- Boston's Annexed Towns and Some Neighborhood Resources (BPL) Boston is known as a city of neighborhoods. Some were formerly cities and towns on their own, and were later annexed to Boston. This guide exists to gather together resources to help in the study of the former towns that make up Boston. Material on the neighborhoods as they exist today is also presented.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks
- The Palgrave Handbook of Urban Ethnography These ethnographically-based studies of diverse urban experiences across the world present cutting edge research and stimulate an empirically-grounded theoretical reconceptualization. The essays identify ethnography as a powerful tool for making sense of life in our rapidly changing, complex cities. They stress the point that while there is no need to fetishize fieldwork--or to view it as an end in itself --its unique value cannot be overstated. These active, engaged researchers have produced essays that avoid abstractions and generalities while engaging with the analytical complexities of ethnographic evidence. Together, they prove the great value of knowledge produced by long-term fieldwork to mainstream academic debates and, more broadly, to society.
- "The Anthropology of Cities: Imagining and Theorizing the City," in Annual Review of Anthropology This review considers the following questions: Why is the city undertheorized in anthropology? Why is an anthropological voice rarely heard in the urban studies and urban policy discourse? Anthropological literature published since 1989 is reviewed, with an emphasis on contributions to urban theory and the locating of anthropological studies within the broader context of urban studies. The city is found not to be absent in anthropological theory, but it has had no major theoretical impact.
- "Urban Anthropology in the 1980s: World View," in Annual Review of Anthropology The article reflects on urban anthropology during the year 1980s. Urban anthropology was alongside ecological, economic, applied, political, legal, medical, educational, psychological, cognitive, symbolic, and aesthetic anthropologies. As compared to urban anthropology, it has emerged as a self-labeled body of research in the 1960s and became the narrowest and theoretically least influential of the subject in 1980s. Several texts, readers, and essay collections followed in the 1970s. Moreover, the U.S. urban anthropology widened dramatically during the 1980s.
- Sensing the City : A Companion to Urban Anthropology This work provides a compact introduction into urban anthropology, which has become the key discipline in exploring cities and city live as sites of encounter, conflict and sensation. It introduces the most influential writers in the field as well as young and upcoming field researchers.
- The New Blackwell Companion to the City This book considers the state of the city and contemporary urbanisation from a range of intellectual and international perspectives.
- Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology: Humanity, Culture and Social Life. 1994. This comprehensive survey of contemporary thought in biological, social and cultural anthropology sets the foundation for their future development and integration. The principal rationale behind the Encyclopedia is to overcome the division and fragmentation within the approaches of the humanities and natural sciences to anthropology. It emphasizes interconnections between perspectives and sub-disciplines, producing a complete perspective on what it means to be human.
- Social and Cultural Anthropology : the Key Concepts Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts is the ideal introduction to this discipline, defining and discussing its central terms with clarity and authority.
- Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology The Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology is an accessible, hands-on guide to the hundreds of terms a student of anthropology or general reader will encounter in dealing with anthropological and ethnographic literature. It includes related terminology from allied fields such as sociology, economics and geography.
- 21st Century Anthropology : a Reference Handbook Via 100 entries or 'mini-chapters,' the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Anthropology will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
- Handbook of Ethnography Focusing on the pursuit of quality in social research, the authors: explore different ways of collecting and analyzing data; introduce the main analytical approaches for text, image and sound; cover computer-based analysis; and address problems in interpretation and quality criteria for qualitative research.
- Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology The Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology, now in its second edition, maintains a strong benchmark for understanding the scope of contemporary anthropological field methods.
