Featured Resources
Documenting China : a reader in seminal twentieth-century texts by
Documenting China brings together a series of linked texts, each one chosen for its impact when first published, and which together chart the core developments in twentieth-century Chinese history. With extracts spanning the fields of philosophy, political science, gender studies, popular culture, literary history, neo-nationalist discourse, and international relations, the book challenges advanced language learners to elevate their reading ability to the level necessary for handling real primary sources in an unmediated way while deepening their understanding of Chinese politics, society, and culture. Each chapter is structured around crucial passages from a core historical text, each chapter begins with an introductory essay in English that provides context for fully understanding the text, suggested further readings, and a glossary of key terms.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL1129.E5 D63 2011 and OnlinePublication Date: 2011
Literature and Society : An Advanced Reader of Modern Chinese by
Since its first publication in 1999, Literature and Society has been widely used in Chinese-language classes at major universities and language institutions. In this completely revised edition, designed for upper-level students, this classic textbook continues to explore a variety of contemporary Chinese social issues through the study of Chinese literary works and essays. This new edition condenses and consolidates the original two-volume set into one convenient volume. The first section, "Literature," includes essays, short stories, and a play, and features a range of writers: Lu Xun, Lin Yutang, Liang Shiqiu, Wang Li, Xie Bingying, and Wang Meng. The second section, "Society," includes essays by Fei Xiaotong, Ma Yinchu, Wu Han, Liang Sicheng, and Chen Hengzhe. The selections delve into such subjects as population issues, ethics, marriage, the lives of intellectuals, and challenges faced by minorities in China. Each selection begins with a brief introduction about the author and concludes with discussion questions. The simplified character text and corresponding vocabulary words face each other on adjacent pages, and the traditional character text follows at the end of each lesson. Literature and Society remains an innovative way for students to sharpen their Chinese language abilities while learning more about important areas of Chinese culture. Completely revised edition Original two-volume set now consolidated into one convenient volume Selections of literary works and essays explore contemporary Chinese social issues Each selection begins with an introduction to the author and concludes with discussion questions Simplified character text and corresponding vocabulary sit on facing pages Traditional character text appears at the end of each lesson
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016-07-26
Grammar Resources
Find books and ebooks on:
Chinese Grammar at Work by
Chinese Grammar at Work adopts a cognitive-functional approach and uses a corpus-based methodology to examine how Chinese syntax emerges from natural discourse context and what the evolving grammar at work looks like. In this volume the author weaves together an array of fresh perspectives on clause structure, constructions, interactional linguistics, cognitive science and complex dynamic systems to construct a grammar of spoken Chinese. The volume contains discussions of a large number of topics: contiguity relation, the roles of repair strategies in the shaping of constituent structure, non-canonical word order constructions, pragmatics of referring expressions, classifier constructions, noun-modifying constructions, verb complementation, ethnotheory of the person and constructions specific to the language of emotion, sequential sensitivity of linguistic materials, meaning potential in interaction, the nature of variability and stability in Chinese syntax from the perspective of complexity theory. The result is a volume that highlights the connections between language structure, situated and embodied nature of cognition and language use, and affords a true entr#65533;e to the exciting realm of Chinese grammar.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Chinese Grammar Made Easy: a practical and effective guide for teachers : [dui wai Han yu yu yan dian jiao xue 150 li] by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2009
The Routledge Advanced Chinese Multimedia Course by
The Routledge Advanced Chinese Multimedia Course: Crossing Cultural Boundaries is an innovative multimedia course for advanced students of Chinese. Written by a team of highly experienced instructors, the book offers advanced learners the opportunity to consolidate their knowledge of Chinese through a wide range of activities designed to build up both excellent language skills and cultural literacy.' Divided into four thematic units covering popular culture, social change, cultural traditions, and politics and history, with each unit presenting three individual lessons, the volume provides students with a structured course which efficiently supports the transition from an intermediate to an advanced level. The many different texts featured throughout the lessons present interesting and accurate information about contemporary China and introduce students to useful vocabulary, speech patterns, and idiosyncratic language usage. Key features include Lively and detailed discussions of grammatical points and sentence patterns Engaging exercises for developing grammatical concepts and insight into the character writing system Systematic review of earlier material to ensure consolidation of learning Coverage of diverse and culturally relevant topics such as online dating, changing views of marriage, food culture, Confucianism? and democracy in China. Extensive cultural and historical notes providing background to the subjects presented Complementary CDs to enhance listening skills. Free companion website (http: //duke.edu/web/chinesesoc/) offering a wealth of video content forming the basis of many of the listening activities linked to topics within the book. Extensively revised and updated throughout, this new edition includes new material and activities on synonyms and substantial improvements to the "composition," "Focus on characters" and "Language practicum" sections. The improved Instructor's Resource Manual, which includes activity tips, additional exercises, answer keys and the traditional character texts, is available at http: //www.routledge.com/books/details/9780415841337/
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Tuttle Learning Chinese Characters: a revolutionary new way to learn and remember the 800 most basic Chinese characters : HSK level by
This user–friendly book is aimed at helping students of Mandarin Chinese learn and remember Chinese characters. At last—there is a truly effective and enjoyable way to learn Chinese characters! This book helps students to learn and remember both the meanings and the pronunciations of over 800 characters. This otherwise daunting task is made easier by the use of techniques based on the psychology of leaning and memory. key principles include the use of visual imagery, the visualization of short "stories," and the systematic building up of more complicated characters from basic building blocks. Key features: Specially designed pictures and stories are used in a structured way to make the learning process more enjoyable and effective, reducing the need for rote learning to the absolute minimum. The emphasis throughout is on learning and remembering the meanings and pronunciations of the characters. Tips are also included on learning techniques and how to avoid common problems. Characters are introduced in a logical sequence, which also gives priority to learning the most common characters first. Modern simplified characters are used, with pronunciations given in pinyin. Key information is given for each character, including radical, stroke–count, traditional form, compounds, and guidance on writing the character.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Essential Chinese: : speak Chinese with confidence by
This portable, user–friendly Chinese language guide and phrasebook is the cheapest and easiest way to learn Chinese before and during your trip. If you only want one Chinese language book—Essential Chinese is the way to go. Part of Tuttle Publishing's Essential Phrasebooks Series, it is a great first introduction and beginner guide to the language of China and Taiwan and is also designed as a great Chinese phrasebook, making it the most versatile Chinese language learning tool on the market. Perfect for business people or tourist traveling to China or for students who want to supplement their learning, this book's easy indexing feature allows it to act as an Mandarin phrase book or as English–Chinese Dictionary. A clever "point to" feature allows you to simply point to a phrase translated in Chinese without the need to say a single word or read a single character. In this book you will find: Over 1500 practical sentences for everyday use. A glossary of over 2000 terms and expressions. Terms and phrases covering essential aspects of traveling and living in China. Extensive information about Chinese grammar and pronunciation.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Chinese Readers
The Lady in the Painting a basic Chinese reader : traditional characters by
The Lady in the Painting is the only full-length story written in Chinese for low-intermediate level learners of Chinese as a foreign language. The story is told with vocabulary and structures familiar to students who have completed a basic course in Chinese. Using an inventory of only about 300 Chinese characters, it serves as an excellent transition between the short reading passages that students encounter in a basic level Chinese course and the longer and more demanding passages in subsequent levels. The original edition of the story has been widely used for decades as a supplementary reader in Chinese language classes in the United States. This expanded version--which includes an interactive CD-ROM--makes the story more accessible to learners in a number of ways. * The book is available in simplified characters as well as traditional characters. (The original was available only in traditional characters.) * It includes extensive vocabulary lists, structure notes, and exercises for each chapter. * The CD-ROM provides extensive listening practice by way of sentence-length and paragraph-length readings as well as listening comprehension activities. * The CD-ROM also includes a toggle function that enables readers to switch between traditional and simplified characters at any point in the story.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2008
Classical Chinese: a Basic Reader by
Classical Chinese is the most comprehensive and authoritative textbook on the language, literature, philosophy, history, and religion of premodern China. Rigorously and extensively field-tested and fine-tuned for years in classroom settings, it sets a new standard for the field. Originally published in three volumes, Classical Chinese appears here in one convenient and easy-to-use volume. Classical Chinese contains forty selections from texts written between the fifth century BC and the first century AD, during which the classical Chinese language was fully developed and standardized. These passages, which express key themes in Chinese humor, wit, wisdom, moral conviction, and political ideals, are arranged in the order of complexity of the grammatical patterns they exemplify. Uniquely, each text is translated into both modern Chinese and English. A detailed glossary defines unfamiliar terms and names found in the first part of the textbook, and the last section features in-depth grammatical analyses, in which every sentence in the main selections is fully diagrammed to show the grammatical relations between their various parts. Corresponding exercises review and reinforce the materials. Four supplementary volumes--an introduction to grammar, readings in poetry and prose, selected historical texts, and selected philosophical texts--are separately available for use in conjunction with this basic reader. Classical Chinese provides a definitive resource for students and instructors of classical Chinese language and culture.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
A New Practical Primer of Literary Chinese by
Forty lessons designed to introduce beginning students to the basic patterns and structures of Classical Chinese are taken from a number of pre-Han and Han texts selected to give students a grounding in exemplary Classical Chinese style. Two additional lessons use texts from later periods to help students appreciate the changes in written Chinese over the centuries.Each lesson consists of a text, a vocabulary list featuring discussions of meaning and usage, explanations of grammar, and explications of difficult passages. The standard modern Chinese, Japanese, and Korean pronunciations are indicated for each character, making this a learning tool for native speakers of those languages as well. Appendices give suggestions for further readings, review common and significant words, explain the radical system, and provide Japanese kanbun readings for all the selections. Glossaries of all vocabulary items and pronunciation indexes for modern Chinese and Korean are also included.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL1117 .R68 2007Publication Date: 2007
Contemporary Chinese Fiction : four short stories introduced and annotated for the student of Chinese by
This volume contains fifteen selections from the writings of Hu Shih, Sun Yat-Sen, Liang Ch'i-ch'ao, and others. It uses traditional characters with Yale romanization.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL1117 .C65 1986Publication Date: 1986
Advanced Reader of Contemporary Chinese Short Stories: reflections on humanity by
This reader for advanced students of Chinese presents ten post-1990 short stories by prominent writers such as Su Tong and Yu Hua, whose novels Raise the Red Lantern and To Live served as the basis for internationally acclaimed films. With its captivating content dealing with current social issues, it fills a gap in the literature for advanced language students who are eager to read extensively in ?real? literature. Vocabulary lists free the student from the chore of constantly consulting a dictionary while reading, grammar and usage examples highlight new patterns, and questions for discussion explore the literary content. This all-fiction collection of contemporary works can be used as a text in language or literature courses or can be read independently.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2004
Chinese Writing
Reading and Writing Chinese: comprehensive guide to the Chinese writing system by
This is a complete and easy-to-use guide for reading and writing Chinese characters. Learning written Chinese is an essential part of mastering the Chinese language. Reading & Writing Chinese places at your fingertips the essential 1,725 Chinese characters' up-to-date definitions, derivations, pronunciations, and examples of correct usage by means of cleverly condensed grids. Newly updated and revised, these characters are the ones officially prescribed by the Chinese government for the internationally recognized test of proficiency in Chinese, the Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK). The student's ability to read Chinese and write Chinese are reinforced throughout. Key features of this newly-expanded edition include: The 1,725 most frequently used characters in both Simplified and Traditional forms. All 2,633 characters and 5,000+ compounds required for the HSK Exam. Standard Hanyu Pinyin romanizations. More mnemonic phrases and etymologies to help you remember the characters. An extensive introduction, alphabetical index, and index according to stroke count and stroke order. Completely updated/expanded English definitions. Convenient quick-reference tables of radicals.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Chinese Script : History, Characters, Calligraphy by
Thomas O. H llmann explains the development of the Chinese writing system and its importance in literature, religion, art, and other aspects of culture. Spanning epigraphs and oracle bones to writing and texting, Chinese Script is a wide-ranging introduction to the complexity and beauty of written text and calligraphy in the Chinese world.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
Developing Writing Skills in Chinese = [Shi yong Han yu xie zuo] by
Developing Writing Skills in Chinese has been devised for post-intermediate students who need to write Chinese in the course of their life, work or study. Suitable for classroom or self-study use, each unit contains a selection of model texts, followed by clear notes in English on the format, style, grammar or special phrases demonstrated. A variety of exercises allow students to practise these writing techniques themselves. Functionally based, with each unit focussing on a particular form of writing, from New Year's cards to business correspondence, key features include: * glossaries for each chapter, giving Chinese characters, pinyin and English translation * answer key * flexible structure * variety of model texts. Written by experienced teachers and thoroughly trialled with non-native learners of Chinese, Developing Writing Skills in Chinese will help students to write coherently, clearly and appropriately in a variety of contexts.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL1171 .Y79 2003Publication Date: 2003
