Featured Resource
Writing and Literacy in Chinese, Korean and Japanese by
The book describes how the three East Asian writing systems-Chinese, Korean, and Japanese- originated, developed, and are used today. Uniquely, this book: (1) examines the three East Asian scripts (and English) together in relation to each other, and (2) discusses how these scripts are, and historically have been, used in literacy and how they are learned, written, read, and processed by the eyes, the brain, and the mind. In this second edition, the authors have included recent research findings on the uses of the scripts, added several new sections, and rewritten several other sections. They have also added a new Part IV to deal with issues that similarly involve all the four languages/scripts of their interest. The book is intended both for the general public and for interested scholars. Technical terms (listed in a glossary) are used only when absolutely necessary.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014-12-17
Chinese Language History & Linguistics
- TLS - Thesaurus Linguae Sericae TLS offers the functions of a traditional dictionary, full-text database, synonym dictionary etc. But by combining multiple levels of analysis in one overarching structure which is accessible from any possible angle (technically achieved by means of a relational database), the types of questions that can be asked and for which answers can be obtained go far beyond those possible with traditional resources on the history of the Chinese language, whether printed or digital.
Browse books and ebooks on:
A History of the Chinese Language by
A History of the Chinese Language provides a comprehensive introduction to the historical development of the Chinese language from its proto Sino-Tibetan roots in prehistoric times to Modern Standard Chinese. Taking a highly accessible and balanced approach, it presents a chronological survey of the various stages of Chinese language development, covering crucial aspects such as phonology, syntax and semantics. Features include: Coverage of the key historical stages in Chinese language development, such as Old Chinese, Middle Chinese, Early Modern Chinese, Classical Chinese and Modern Standard Chinese Treatment of core linguistic aspects of the Chinese language including phonological changes, grammatical development, lexical evolution, vernacular writing, Chinese characters and Modern Chinese dialects Inclusion of many authentic Chinese legends and texts throughout the book, presented through a rigorous framework of linguistic analysis to help students to build up strong critical and evaluative skills and acquire valuable cultural knowledge Integration of materials from different disciplines, such as archaeology, anthropology, history and sociolinguistics, to highlight the cultural and social background of each period of the language Helpful appendices to aid students with no prior knowledge of linguistics or the Chinese language Companion website at www.routledge.com/cw/dong offering a wealth of supplementary resources such as additional exercises, answer keys and audio recordings of the sounds of Middle and Old Chinese. Written by a highly experienced instructor, A History of the Chinese Language will be an essential resource for beginning students of Chinese Language and Linguistics and for anyone interested in the history and culture of China.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Chinese by
This general introduction to the study of the Chinese language traces its history from its beginings in the second millennium BC to the present day and provides a clear picture of the contemporary language and its sociolinguistic status. Chinese in its numerous dialect forms, has more speakers than any language in the modern world, and this vast extension in time and space brings to its study an exceptional complexity. Nevertheless, Professor Norman handles this extraordinary range of material with a deftness of organization and lucid elegance of style that make his book of real interest to any reader with only an elementary knowledge of linguistics. It includes information on the genetic and typological connections of Chinese, traditional Chinese phonology, the writing system, the classical and early vernacular languages, the modern language and the non-standard dialects, and the history of linguistic reform in China, concluding with a discussion of present and future prospects.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL1075 .N67 1988 and OnlinePublication Date: 1988
Tense and Aspect in Han Period Chinese: a linguistic analysis of the 'Shijì' by
Many grammatical issues of Archaic and Medieval Chinese still lack a comprehensive analysis. The book provides the first thorough investigation of the syntactic and semantic constraints of the linguistic categories tense and aspect and their relation with the lexical aspect of the verb in Han period Chinese. The author uncovers fascinating details of a language with a highly restricted verbal morphology.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Chinese Lexicography a history from 1046 BC to AD 1911 by
This comprehensive account of the history of Chinese lexicography is the first book on the subject to be published in English. It traces the development of Chinese lexicography over three millennia, from the Zhou Dynasty (1046 BC-256 BC) to the Qing Dynasty (1616-1911). Revealing how theemergence of lexicographical culture in ancient China was linked to the teaching of ancient characters, it describes the subsequent development of primers, thesauruses, and dictionaries of all major types, including those of dialects and technical terms. These works originated and appeared inancient China, predating their western counterparts by hundreds of years: and in one form or another most of them remain in use today. Throughout their account the authors show how changes in the organization, content, use and researches of Chinese lexicographical works reflected broader social and political developments. This book not only makes an important and original contribution to the history of Chinese lexicography and thesocial and cultural history of China but also provides illuminating insights into world lexicography and new forms of comparative researches in lexicography in the global context.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2008
Beyond Sinology: Chinese Writing and the Scripts of Culture by
New communication and information technologies provide distinct challenges and possibilities for the Chinese script, which, unlike alphabetic or other phonetic scripts, relies on multiple signifying principles. In recent decades, this multiplicity has generated a rich corpus of reflection and experimentation in literature, film, visual and performance art, and design and architecture, within both China and different parts of the West. Approaching this history from a variety of alternative theoretical perspectives, Beyond Sinology reflects on the Chinese script to pinpoint the multiple connections between languages, scripts, and medial expressions and cultural and national identities. Through a complex study of intercultural representations, exchanges, and tensions, the text focuses on the concrete "scripting" of identity and alterity, advancing a new understanding of the links between identity and medium and a critique of articulations that rely on single, monolithic, and univocal definitions of writing. Chinese writing-with its history of divergent readings in Chinese and non-Chinese contexts, with its current reinvention in the age of new media and globalization-can teach us how to read and construct mediality and cultural identity in interculturally responsible ways and also how to scrutinize, critique, and yet appreciate and enjoy the powerful multi-medial creativity embodied in writing.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Linguistics Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
These 4 volumes contain articles on central linguistic themes, their related concepts and relationships with other disciplines. They intend to be authoritative, comprehensive and international in scope, while appealing to an academic audience. There is an alphabetic list of the articles; the longer entries are signed and followed by bibliographies.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .E48 2006 )Publication Date: 2005
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by
The goal of this source is to present articles on the full range of linguistic disciplines (applied, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, etc.) and their inter-relationships, as well as their intersections with other disciplines.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .I58 2003)Publication Date: 2003
