Background Sources
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowPublished by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
Routledge Handbook of Modern Korean Literature by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020The Routledge Handbook of Modern Korean Literature provides a comprehensive overview of a Korean literary tradition, discussing the perspectives from which modern Korean literature has thus far been defined, analyzing which voices have been enunciated, underappreciated, or completely silenced and how we can enrich our understanding of it.
The Routledge Companion to Korean Literature by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2022The Routledge Companion to Korean Literature consists of 35 chapters written by leaders in the field, who explore significant topics and who have pioneered innovative approaches. The collection highlights the most dynamic current scholarship on Korean literature, presenting rigorous literary analysis, interdisciplinary methodologies, and transregional thinking so as to provide a valuable and inspiring resource for researchers and students alike.
A History of Korean Literature by Location: Mugar Stacks PL956 .H57 2003 and OnlinePublication Date: 2009This is a comprehensive narrative history of Korean literature. Consisting of twenty-five chapters, it covers twentieth-century poetry, fiction by women and the literature of North Korea.
Imperatives of Culture: Selected Essays on Korean History, Literature, and Society from the Japanese Colonial Era by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013This volume contains translations--many appearing for the first time in the English language--of major literary, critical, and historical essays from the colonial period (1910-1945) in Korea. Considered representative of the debates among and between Korean and Japanese thinkers of the colonial period, these texts shed light on relatively unexplored aspects of intellectual life and take part in current conversations around the nature of the colonial experience and its effects on post-liberation Korean society and culture.
Routledge Handbook of Modern Korean History by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016Beginning in the mid-nineteenth century when Korea became entangled in the world of modern imperialism and the old social, economic and political order began to change; this handbook brings together cutting edge scholarship on major themes in Korean History.
Browse books and ebooks on:
Literary Biography
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new windowA bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
Browse books and ebooks on:
Writers of the Winter Republic by Location: Mugar Stacks PL958.7 .R98 2016Publication Date: 2015In 1975, a young high school teacher took the stage at a prayer meeting in a southwestern Korean city to recite a poem called "The Winter Republic." The poem became an anthem against the military dictatorship of Park Chung Hee and his successors; the poet, however, soon found himself in court and then in prison for saddling the authoritarian state with such a memorable moniker. This unique book weaves together literary works, biographical accounts, institutional histories, trial transcripts, and personal interviews to tell the powerful story of how literature became a fierce battleground against authoritarian rule during one of the darkest periods in South Korea's history.
Lamentation as History by Location: Mugar Stacks PL725.2.K67 W46 2005Publication Date: 2005This book examines narratives by and about the Koreans in Japan from the mid-1960s through 2000. In so doing, it traces the emergence and evolution of a discourse of this group as a minority community within Japan. Koreans are the only significant postcolonial population to have been subjects of a non-Western empire, yet this is the first full-length study in English of their literature.
Questioning Minds: short stories by modern Korean women writers by Location: Mugar Stacks PL984.E8 Q47 2010 and OnlinePublication Date: 2010Available for the first time in English, the ten short stories by modern Korean women collected here touch in one way or another on issues related to gender and kinship politics. All of the protagonists are women who face personal crises or defining moments in their lives as gender-marked beings in a Confucian, patriarchal Korean society.
Creative Women of Korea: The Fifteenth Through the Twentieth Centuries by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2015This book introduces important contributions in the humanities by a select group of traditional and modern Korean women, from the 15th through the 20th centuries. The literary and artistic works of these women are considered Korean classics, and the featured artists and writers range from a queen, to a courtesan, to a Buddhist nun, to unknown women of Korea.
Finding Articles
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Korean Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of Korean classical books including: history, literature, folk literature, natural history, oriental medicine, religion, myth, and other classical works.
- KISS: Han'guk ŭi haeksim chisik chŏngbo chawŏn This link opens in a new windowKISS is a full-text database of Korean journals and proceedings. Kiss provides over 1.3 million articles from about 3,285 scholarly journals on social science, humanities, medicine pharmacy, engineering, natural science, physical education and art, linguistics, agricultural science, oceanography. KISS also provides government documents and reports.
- DBpia This link opens in a new windowDBpia is a database of articles from Korean scholarly journals in fields including sociology, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law and administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education. Back issues of each journal title are searchable by article title, author, keyword, journal title and publisher.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
The Linguistics Collection is comprised of index and full-text databases covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. The collection includes the Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), which abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. And Linguistics Database, which includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics including many titles indexed in LLBA.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Texts
- National Digital Library of KoreaDigitized texts from the collections of six major libraries in Korea
- The Kyujanggak Institute for Korean StudiesThe Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies' collection comprises over 300,000 articles, including 175,000 ancient texts, 50,000 historical documents, and 18,000 book-printing blocks.
- Digital Library of Korean LiteratureThe Digital Library of Korean Literature is a multilingual archive of Korean literature, including e-books and information on translated Korean works and writers.
- The Veritable Records of The Joseon Dynasty 조선왕조실록The Joseon wangjo sillok (朝鮮王朝實錄 Veritable Records of the Joseon Dynasty) includes 28 different sets of chronological records, and each set covers one ruler's reign. It was compiled immediately after the death of the ruler in question.
- The Daily Records of the Royal Secretariat of Joseon Dynasty 승정원일기The Seungjeongwon,was composed of six royal secretaries, or Seungji and two scribes, or juseo. Subject to the varying winds of reform of government and administrative systems, the name of the royal secretariat was changed several times from 1894, from Seungjeongwon to Seungseonwon(承宣院),Gungnaebu(宮內府), Biseogam(秘書監), and Biseowon(秘書院).
Korean Literature - Anthologies
Anthology of Korean Literature: from early times to the nineteenth century by Location: Mugar Stacks PL984.E1 A5 and OnlinePublication Date: 1981This books offers a comprehensive sampling of the major genres of poetry and prose written from about A.D. 600 to the end of the nineteenth century. The book contains a dazzling array of myths and legends, essays and biographies, love poems and Zen poems, satirical tales and tales of wonder, stories of adventure and of heroism, as well as quieter works treating the farmer's works and days and the pleasures and sorrows of the simple life.
Modern Korean Literature by Location: Mugar Stacks PL984.E1 M64 1990Publication Date: 1990-11-01This anthology includes the finest translations available of representative works in all the major genres, including poetry, fiction, essays, and drama. Readers will gain a clear sense of the development of twentieth-century Korean literature and a vivid impression of the resilience, strength, and tenacity of modern Korean writers.
The Columbia Anthology of Modern Korean Poetry by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2004Korea's modern poetry is filled with many different voices and styles, subjects and views, moves and countermoves, yet it still remains relatively unknown outside of Korea itself. The Columbia Anthology of Modern Korean Poetry presents 228 poems by 34 modern Korean poets, including renowned poets such as So Chongju and Kim Chiha.
Into the Light: An Anthology of Literature by Koreans in Japan by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010Into the Light is the first anthology to introduce the fiction of Japan's Korean community (Zainichi Koreans) to the English-speaking world. The collection brings together works by many of the most important Zainichi Korean writers of the twentieth century, from the colonial-era "Into the Light" (1939) by Kim Sa-ryang to "Full House" (1997) by Yu Miri, one of contemporary Japan's most acclaimed and popular authors.
Love in Mid-Winter Night: Korean Sijo Poetry by Location: Mugar Stacks PL984.E3 L6 1985Publication Date: 1985An anthology of Korean Sijo poetry.
