Featured Resource
Korea: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary by
Compiled by specialists from the University of Durham Department of East Asian Studies, this new reference work contains approximately 1500 entries covering Korean civilisation from early times to the present day. Subjects include history, politics, art, archaeology, literature, etc. The Dictionary is intended for students, teachers and researchers, and will also be of interest to the general reader. Entries provide factual information and contain suggestions for further reading. A name index and comprehensive cross-reference system make this an easy to use, multi-purpose guide for the student of Korea in the broadest sense.
Location: Mugar Reference X DS902 .P737 1999Publication Date: 1999
Digital Collections
- Digital Resources and Projects on East Asia An open-access repository that houses a wide range of online tools, archives, exhibitions, and more in a searchable and filterable platform. The aim of this table is to provide researchers and educators with a convenient way to locate and explore digital materials based on a variety of thematic content.
- Rare Books of Korea (National Library of Korea Collection)Since its opening in 1945 up to present, National Library of Korea that has played a part in the development of knowledge & information, has been trying to provide the opportunities for the general public to get easy access to the images and explanations of resources including rare and valuable documents through its collections and digital library.
- The Kyujanggak Institute for Korean StudiesThe Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies' collection comprises over 300,000 articles, including 175,000 ancient texts, 50,000 historical documents, and 18,000 book-printing blocks.
- Between Liberation Space and Time of Need, 1945-1950: Rare Literary WorksFull-text images of 128 rare Korean literary works printed in the 1945-1950 period from the Korean Collection of the University of Washington Libraries.
- Sillok: The Veritable Records of the Joseon DynastyThe Joseon wangjo sillok (朝鮮王朝實錄 Veritable Records of the Joseon Dynasty) includes 28 different sets of chronological records, and each set covers one ruler's reign. It was compiled immediately after the death of the ruler in question. As such, the Veritable Records are not the typical history planned and written by a specific individual or team of individuals. The collection covers the reigns of 25 rulers, from King Taejo to King Cheoljong, and spans a period of 472 years.
- Changsŏ-gak (Jangseo-gak) 한국학 전자도서관Digital library of the Academy of Korean Studies which includes early han'gul novels, the unofficial history of the Chosŏn dynasty and diaries, and audiovisual materials about Korean culture and literature
- Waseda University Library Japanese and Chinese ClassicsThe purpose of this database is to provide the widest possible public access to the Waseda University Library’s collection of Japanese and Chinese classics, in the form of bibliographical information, related scholarly materials, as well as full-text images.
Websites
- Words without Borders Founded in 2003, Words Without Borders promotes cultural understanding through the translation, publication, and promotion of the finest contemporary international literature.
- The Association for Asian Studies (AAS) Founded in 1941, the Association for Asian Studies (AAS)—the largest society of its kind, with more than 7,000 members worldwide—is a scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association open to all persons interested in Asia.
- Korean Studies Portal This site provides links to useful resources on Korean Studies. Covers many subjects including Art, Literature, History, Maps and more.
- National Diet Library "NDL Search" is an integrated search service of catalogs and digital archives including libraries, archives, museums, academic institutes and the National Diet Library.
