Featured Resource
The Korean Language: structure, use and context by
Provides a general description of the Korean language by highlighting structural aspects. This book examines the Korean language in its geographical, historical, social and cultural context and covers topics such as the language's genetic affiliation, historical development, sound patterns, writing systems, vocabulary, grammar and discourse.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL911 .S655 2005 and OnlinePublication Date: 2005
Korean Language History & Linguistics
Browse books and ebooks on:
The Handbook of Korean Linguistics by
The Handbook of Korean Linguistics presents state-of-the-art overviews of the linguistic research on the Korean language. - Structured to allow a range of theoretical perspectives in addressing linguistic phenomena - Includes chapters on Old Korean and Middle Korean, present-day language policies in North and South Korea, social aspects of Korean as a heritage language, and honorifics - Indispensable and unique resource not only for those studying Korean linguistics but cross-linguistic research in general
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2015
The Korean Alphabet: Its History and Structure by
A collection of ten essays which cover topics such as: arguments for King Sejong's personal creation of the script; the Asian and domestic linguistic and socio-cultural background to its creation; the principles under which each symbol was created; and the structure of phonological units.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL918 .K67 1997Publication Date: 1997Hunmin Chŏngŭm 28-cha ŏwŏnjŏgin sin haesŏk : Hanʼguk mal purhwi nŭn tongsŏ munmyŏng ŭi yŏnwŏn by
Location: Mugar Stacks PL931 .K39 2005Publication Date: 2005
The Role of Contact in the Origins of the Japanese and Korean Languages by
Despite decades of research on the reconstruction of proto-Korean-Japanese (pKJ), some scholars still reject a genetic relationship. This study addresses their doubts in a new way, interpreting comparative linguistic data within a context of material and cultural evidence, much of which has come to light only in recent years. The weaknesses of the reconstruction, according to J. Marshall Unger, are due to the early date at which pKJ split apart and to lexical material that the pre-Korean and pre-Japanese branches later borrowed from different languages to their north and south, respectively.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL525.2 .U54 2009Publication Date: 2008
Linguistics Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
These 4 volumes contain articles on central linguistic themes, their related concepts and relationships with other disciplines. They intend to be authoritative, comprehensive and international in scope, while appealing to an academic audience. There is an alphabetic list of the articles; the longer entries are signed and followed by bibliographies.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .E48 2006 )Publication Date: 2005
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by
The goal of this source is to present articles on the full range of linguistic disciplines (applied, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, etc.) and their inter-relationships, as well as their intersections with other disciplines.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .I58 2003)Publication Date: 2003
