Related Guides
Find Films
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window Contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume IV: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window Contains award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. The collection also includes field recordings and edited films by students and faculty from universities and institutions around the world, including Berkeley Media and Manchester's Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology.
- Penn Museum Anthropological and Archaeological Films (University of Pennsylvania) In its 120-year history, the University of Pennsylvania Museum has collected nearly one million objects, many obtained directly through its own field excavations or anthropological research. This collection on the Internet Archive represents a portion of the motion picture film collection housed at the Museum.
Featured Film
- Roman Restaurant Rhythms (streaming, Ethnographic Video Online) This delightful and mouth-watering documentary provides a 'backstage,' behind-the-scenes foray into the rhythms of food preparation in four traditional restaurants in Rome.
- Caught in a magic place (streaming, Ethnographic Video Online) For its customers, La Barrocciaia family restaurant, located in a traditional quarter of the old port of Livorno on the Tuscan coast of Italy, is a magical place. For them, it is a place of excellent cuisine, even of love. But for Tommi, the young man who has recently inherited the business from his grandfather, it is a great challenge to live up to the expectations of his family and his clients, not to speak of the sheer physical demands of his new role.
