Related Guides
Databases
Social Sciences
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide access for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It currently consists of 290 cultures.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text provides access to hundreds of English language journals in the social sciences. About two-thirds of the journals are peer-reviewed.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window This database contains indexes journal articles and books in the social sciences. Subjects covered in the database include anthropology, economics, education, ethnography, political science, sociology and more. It has a broad international scope. Abstracts are available for half of all current journal articles.
Area Studies
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books.
- Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Detabesu (Japanese Magazines and Periodicals) This link opens in a new window Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes.
- Korean Database This link opens in a new window Full-text collection of Korean classical books including: history, literature, folk literature, natural history, oriental medicine, religion, myth, and other classical works.
Humanities
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Hospitality & Culinary Arts
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles and industry news on all areas of tourism and hospitality. Areas covered include: culinary arts; food and beverage management; hospitality law; hotel management, leisure and travel, market trends.
Agriculture
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Index to the National Agricultural Library, including primary sources on world agriculture.
Searching across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters level theses are included selectively.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released).
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
Featured Journals & Magazines
Did you know you can search thousands of journals at the same time? Just use the appropriate database. Are you interested in writing for a food studies journal? Check out Emily Contois' Publishing in Food Studies Journals: An Index.
- Food, Culture & Society An international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
- Food and Foodways Older volumes (Food & Foodways) are in Mugar Stacks TX341 .F695 Holdings: V.1-4, 14-22 1985/86-1990/91, 2006-2014
- Gastronomica Gastronomica is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food.
- Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment Central to the mission of CAFE is work that explores and demonstrates the connections between the full array of cultural dimensions and the environment, ecology, agriculture, aquaculture, fisheries, natural resources, energy, water, food, and nutrition.
- Digest: A Journal of Foodways & Culture Digest, the online journal of the Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society, publishes a variety of scholarly articles, research reports, creative pieces and recipes, and reviews related to food and folklore.
- Digest: An Interdisciplinary Study of Food and Foodways (1977-1999) Digest, the online journal of the Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society, publishes a variety of scholarly articles, research reports, creative pieces and recipes, and reviews related to food and folklore.
- Anthropology of Food Anthropology of Food is a multilingual refereed web journal devoted to the social sciences of food.
