Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PT361 .L55 2004 ) and Online
Publication Date: 2003
This volume of sharply focused essays by an international team of scholars deals not only with the most significant literary, philosophical, and cultural aspects of German Romanticism -- one of the most influential, albeit highly controversial movements in the history of German literature -- but also with the history and status of scholarship on the literature of the period.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PT91 .C36 1997 )
Publication Date: 1997
This book describes German literary history up to the unification of Germany in 1990. Contributors, all leading scholars in their field, take a fresh look at the main authors and movements, and also ask what Germans in a given period were actually reading and writing, what they would have seen at the local theatre or found in the local lending library; it includes, for example, discussions of literature in Latin as well as in German, eighteenth-century letters and popular novels, Nazi literature and radio plays, and modern Swiss and Austrian literature. A prominence is given to writing by women.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PT41 .G3 1997 )
Publication Date: 1997
This new edition of Mary and Henry Garland's classic Oxford Companion to German Literature substantially revises and extends its coverage, making an invaluable reference work available to a new generation of readers. Designed to be a reliable source of information on the whole sweep of literature from German-speaking countries from the eighth century onwards, the Companion now comes right up to the mid-1990s, including recent works such as Gunter Grass's controversial novel about the unification of East and West Germany, Ein weites Feld (1995). The entries, arranged in a single alphabetical sequence, cover authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PT111 .P56 2002 ) and Online
Publication Date: 2002
Although the importance of the interplay of literature and philosophy in Germany has often been examined within individual works or groups of works by particular authors, little research has been undertaken into the broader dialogue of German literature and philosophy as a whole. Philosophy and German Literature 1700–1990 offers six chapters by leading specialists on the dialogue between the work of German literary writers and philosophers through their works.
The Cambridge Companion to the Modern German Novel, first published in 2004, provides a broad ranging introduction to the major trends in the development of the German novel from the 1890s to the present. Written by an international team of experts, it encompasses both modernist and realist traditions, and also includes a look back to the roots of the modern novel in the Bildungsroman of the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The structure is broadly chronological, but thematically-focused chapters examine topics such as gender anxiety, images of the city, war, and women's writing; within each chapter, key works are selected for close attention.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PT571 .R93 2012 )
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
German poetry has long held a special place within the Western literary tradition. Its major achievements include Luther's hymns, Goethe's unequaled poetic versatility, the Romantics' lyric songs and the challenging poetry of Hlderlin, Rilke and Celan. Combining readings of traditional poems with fresh examples, Judith Ryan conveys the rich rewards that come with reading German poetry. Organized thematically, the book demonstrates the significance of the poems in their time while also showing their resonance in later periods. The nuanced readings in this book serve as ideal examples for close engagement with the primary texts. Quotations are given in the original German and translated into English prose.
BU Libraries Search (BULS)BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Literature Online (LION)LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
MLA International BibliographyIndexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
Literature Criticism OnlineContains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000. May be searched simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTORThis database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
Project MuseProject Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
Linguistics CollectionThe Linguistics Collection is comprised of index and full-text databases covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. The collection includes the Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), which abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. And Linguistics Database, which includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics including many titles indexed in LLBA.
Contemporary AuthorsA bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945 by William GrangeHistorical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945 covers a wide swath of literary analysis and achievement, from Old High German lays and ecclesiastical encomia to Middle High German epics, sagas, and love lyrics. While extensive in its chronological dimension, the Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945 is equally comprehensive in the geographical and genre areas it covers. The history of this period in German literature is told through a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, a comprehensive bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on poetry, novels, historical narrative, philosophical musings, and drama. The exceptional writers who emerged and shaped German literature over the centuries_including Walther von der Vogelweide, Johann Jakob Christoffel von Grimmelshausen, Gotthold Ephraim Lessing, Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Friedrich Schiller, Heinrich Heine, Friedrich Nietzsche, Thomas Mann, and many others who are well known and admired worldwide_are also covered.
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of German Literature by Matthias Konzett (Editor)"A substantial contribution to English encyclopedias of German literature, this authoritative two-volume set features in-depth treatment of the authors, works, topics, and influences of German literary studies. Arranged in A-to-Z format, the articles are both definitive and critical."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PT91 .E53 2000 ); 2 volumes
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PT155 .M48 2004 )
Publication Date: 2004
Women Writers in German-Speaking Countries by Elke P. Frederiksen; Elizabeth G. AmetsbichlerWomen have contributed to the literature of German-speaking countries since the Middle Ages, and they continue to write important works at the close of the 20th century. While research on texts by women writers in German-speaking countries has increased substantially, most of these authors remain virtually unknown to English-speaking scholars and students. The first work of its kind in English, this reference book contains alphabetically arranged entries for 54 Austrian, German, and Swiss women writers--such as Hrotsvit von Gandersheim, Louise Aston, Elfriede Jelinek, and Erica Pedretti--from the tenth century to the present day. Each entry includes a biography, a discussion of major themes, a survey of criticism, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. An introductory essay overviews the history of literature by women in German-speaking countries, and an extensive bibliography concludes the volume. Women have actively shaped literature in German-speaking countries from the Middle Ages to the present day. These authors continue to enrich the world of letters, and an increasing amount of scholarly attention is given to their writings. In spite of their contributions, however, most of these writers are virtually unknown to English-speaking scholars and students. And though one of the explicit goals of feminist literary and cultural studies has been to provide a voice to a multitude of diverse authors, feminist research still seems to focus heavily on texts by authors such as Christa Wolf, Ingeborg Bachmann, and Bettina von Arnim, or on certain periods in 19th- and 20th-century German literature and culture. As a result, many other women authors have faded into obscurity. Through entries written by expert contributors, this reference book provides insights into the life and writings of 54 women authors from German-speaking countries. Entries are arranged alphabetically to facilitate use, while an appendix lists the writers chronologically. Included are profiles of authors from the tenth century to the present day, such as Hrotsvit von Gandersheim, Louise Aston, Elfriede Jelinek, and Erica Pedretti. Each entry includes a biography, a discussion of major themes and stylistic features, a survey of criticism, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. An introductory essay overviews the history of literature by women in German-speaking countries and provides a theroretical context for the work, and an extensive bibliography of secondary sources concludes the volume.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PT167 .W65 1998 )