Afrofuturism in popular culture: Wanuri Kahiu at TEDxNairobi
Introductory Articles and Overviews
The following articles give useful overviews or histories of Afrofuturism, Africanfuturism, African SciFi , Black SciFi, and African Speculative Fiction as well as discussions of how and whether these terms should be defined and delineated.
- 100 African Writers of SciFi (Strange Horizons)by Geoff Ryman
This ongoing project, organized by location, is a fantastic introduction to the current writers and publishers of African SciFi. - Black to the Future: Afrofuturism 1.0By Mark Dery
In which the term Afrofuturism is coined. The original version of this article and accompanying interviews were published in Flame Wars: The Discourse of Cyberculture. - The Aliens Have Already Landedby Mahriana Rofheart
Africa is a Country
To see works mentioned in this article that are available at BU, scroll below:
- Your Brief And Far-Out Guide To Afrofuturism (Huffington Post)By Priscilla Frank
To see works mentioned in this article that are available at BU, scroll below:
Biographical Sources
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
History and Politics
Historical Dictionaries of Africa Series
This Historical Dictionaries of Africa series is country specific and provides historical information through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has several hundred cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. The books in this series are an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about African countries" Be sure to look for the most recent editions.
History of Africa by
In a single volume, History of Africa offers readers a richly illustrated narrative introduction to the history of the entire continent, from earliest times through to the present day. Building on the book's established reputation and success, this third edition has been revised and updated throughout in the light of new research and recent events. A companion website now also supports the text.Kevin Shillington traces the history of the continent through the ancient world to medieval, modern and contemporary Africa. He explores the early emergence of farming; the kingdoms of Ancient Egypt, Aksum and Meroe; medieval empires; the spread and impact of Islam; the role of trade and religion; and the development of Africa's wide range of pastoral, agricultural and hunting societies.History of Africa, third edition:* contains nearly 100 specially-drawn maps and almost 200 illustrations, a number of which are new for this edition* takes a deliberately African viewpoint of the European involvement in Africa* provides a carefully constructed examination of the colonial period and the problems of post-colonial Africa* presents expanded coverage of modern Africa with more on issues such as economic concerns, globalization, international organisations, climate change, HIV/AIDS, and the role of China* opens with a new Introduction which includes a helpful historiographical overview * features a companion website offering additional historical debate and critical discussion to complement specific parts of the text; key points to remember for each chapter; a variety of essay questions and exercises; and other resources to enhance the learning experience.Eminently clear and approachable, History of Africa remains the essential text for anyone with an interest in this remarkable continent and its fascinating past.
Location: Mugar Stacks DT20 .S47 2012ISBN: 9780230308473Publication Date: 2012-05-14
Africana by
Including more than one million new words, Africana has been completely updated and revised. New entries on African kingdoms have been added, bibliographies now accompany most articles, and the encyclopedia's coverage of the African diaspora in Latin America and the Caribbean has been expanded, transforming the More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. African American history and culture in the present-day United States receive a strong emphasis, but African American history and culture throughout the rest of the Americas and their origins in African itself have an equally strong presence.
Location: African Studies Library Reference DT14 .A37435 2005Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Folklore and Mythology
To find more folklore, try search the BU Library Search for:
SUBJECT: Folklore-- Africa (For more results, replace the bold text with the name of a specific country.)
SUBJECT: Yoruba (African people) -- Folklore (For more results, replace the bold text with the name of a specific people/ culture.)
An exception: SUBJECT: Luo (Kenyan and Tanzanian people)-- Folklore
Sundiata an Epic of Old Mali by
This is a revision of Sundiata: An Epic of Old Mali, a best seller for 30 years. Retold by griots, the guardians of African Culture, this oral tradition has been handed down from the thirteenth century and captures all the mystery and majesty of medieval African kingship. It is the epic tale, based on an actual figure, of Sundiata (Sunjata). Part history and part legend, it tells how Sundiata fulfilled the prophesies that he would unite the twelve kingdoms of Mali into a powerful empire. This Revised Edition includes background information which provides a geographical, religious, social, and political context for the story. A 'who's who of characters' and 'a glossary of places' will enhance the reader's experience.
Location: Mugar Library DT532.2 .N513 2006ISBN: 9781405849425Publication Date: 2006
To find more, try searching the BU Library Search for:
SUBJECT: Legends-- Africa (For more results, try substituting a specific country or culture in place of the bold text.)
Religion and Philosophy
Introduction to African Religion by
These traditional reads are brimming with spirited characters and positive values--but with a little extra excitement and bite, so hold on to your hats! Written expressly for the middle grade struggling reader, the series does not contain strong language, edgy themes, or dysfunctional families. In fact, family is the main theme of these titles. And one particular Latino family is the focus with their uncanny knack for finding humor, hope, and colorful personalities--even in unusual circumstances. Written at the lowest reading levels, the 50-page story structure is straightforward and moves the reader through the text quickly and efficiently. They were trapped. Then Ana remembered the old stone church. It was nearby. She knew the old building was the safest place for her family. It could withstand the high winds and rising water.
Location: Mugar Stacks BL2400 .M383 1991ISBN: 0435940023Publication Date: 1991
Ifá Divination, Knowledge, Power, and Performance by
This landmark volume compiled by Jacob K. Olupona and Rowland O. Abiodun brings readers into the diverse world of If#65533;--its discourse, ways of thinking, and artistic expression as manifested throughout the Afro-Atlantic. Firmly rooting If#65533; within African religious traditions, the essays consider If#65533; and If#65533; divination from the perspectives of philosophy, performance studies, and cultural studies. They also examine the sacred context, verbal art, and the interpretation of If#65533; texts and philosophy. With essays from the most respected scholars in the field, the book makes a substantial contribution toward understanding If#65533; and its role in contemporary Yoruba and diaspora cultures.
Location: Available OnlineISBN: 9780253018960Publication Date: 2016-02-29
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought by
From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan-Africanism and Negritude, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diasporain the Americas and in Europe. The term "African thought" has been interpreted in the broadest sense to embrace all those forms of discourse - philosophy, political thought, religion, literature, important social movements - that contribute to the formulation of a distinctive vision of the worlddetermined by or derived from the African experience. The Encyclopedia is a large-scale work of 350 entries covering major topics involved in the development of African Thought including historical figures and important social movements, producing a collection that is an essential resource forteaching, an invaluable companion to independent research, and a solid guide for further study.
Location: African Studies Library Reference DT14 .O97 2010ISBN: 9780195334739Publication Date: 2010-04-27
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies