Tips for Finding Articles
Articles about this subject can be found in publications from a wide variety of disciplines. Use the databases on this page to get access to thousands of articles examining the subject from different perspectives or browse the key publications shown.
If the full text of an article is not available in a database, click on the 
icon to find other options for getting the article.
Key Journals & eJournals
- CELAAN : Revue du Centre d'etudes des littératures et des arts d'Afrique du Nord = Review of the Center for the Studies of the Literatures and Arts of North Africa.Location: PQ3988.5.N6 C45Publication Date: 2002 -
- Présence africaine.Location: GN645 .F47
- African Journals Online (AJOL) AJOL hosts 520 Journals, including 213 Open Access Journals. Browse journals by category.
- Persee.fr Persee.fr offre un accès libre et gratuit à des collections complètes de publications scientifiques (revues, livres, actes de colloques, publications en série, sources primaires, etc.) associé à une gamme d'outils de recherche et d'exploitation.
- Littératures Africaine Francophone LITAF : une référence générale sur les littératures de l'Afrique noire francophone. La base de données bibliographique LITAF donne des informations complètes sur la production littéraire en langue française de l'Afrique subsaharienne.LITAF est à l'origine un projet du groupe de recherche "Littératures d'Afrique noire" (groupe aujourd'hui dissous) dirigé par Alain Ricard†, directeur de recherches émerite au Centre National de Recherche Scientifique. LITAF bénéficie du statut de projet associé au laboratoire "Les Afriques dans le Monde" - LAM (Unité mixte de recherche 5115 CNRS / SciencesPo Bordeaux) dirigé par Céline Thiriot. LITAF a reçu le soutien du Conseil Régional d'Aquitaine du 1997 à 2000 et de l'Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie (OIF) pour l'année 2008. Le site de LITAF est hébérgé par LAM. Remerciements à LAM et à l'APELA (Association pour l'étude des littératures africaines) dont l'aide précieux a rendu possible l'amélioration de la grille de recherche et sa remise en ligne après une intérruption en août et septembre 2016.
Article Databases
There are various forms of databases for finding articles on films. Depending on the type of articles needed one may consult the following databases listed by categories. Some databases are often used to find review articles. Others contain scholarly articles from communication or film studies journals. Some databases are multidisciplinary, while others focus on particular topic, academic discipline, or media. Below is a collection of databases that may be useful for your research. For a complete listing of databases for scholarly articles available through BU see Databases A-Z
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Screen Studies Collection brings the Film Periodicals Database, Film Index International, and the AFI Catalog together in one site.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth indexing of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and biographical information for film personalities. It also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes, abstracts, and provides full text of articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes several film reference books. Abstracts late 19th century - present; full text 1930s - present.
Other Useful Databases
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Film Literature Index (FLI) The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The National Endowment for the Humanities awarded Indiana University a grant in 2002 to convert the print version of the Film Literature Index to electronic form. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. The FLI online database contains citations to film, television and video articles, reviews and book reviews. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names.
Film Reviews and critiques on the Internet: Selected Resources
Selected Internet Resources for Film Reviews
- Metacritic
Search for the film by title. Once you locate it, click on the link for "critic reviews." The reviews will be listed by the name of the original review publisher. Click on the link that says "read full review." The site will re-direct you to the original review.
- Movie Review Query Engine
Find online movie reviews by entering a film title. A list of results will provide links to the review's original publisher. You can also find reviews by selecting film categories such as current and popular films of the recent past few days, film festival reviews, and AFI reviews.
- Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Search for movies and TV shows by title, cast/crew, and character. Information provided includes director, genre, cast overview, rating, year released, runtime, plot outline.
- Le Blog Du Cinéma: Actualite, Analyse, critique etc..est un site multi-auteurs, composé d’une douzaine de rédacteurs bénévoles. Ils sont libres de tous droits concernant leurs articles, la ligne éditoriale du site se voulant être très large. De ce fait, la directive que prend chaque article varie selon l’appréciation de son auteur. Il ne reflète en aucun cas la pensée et l’avis général du site.
Librarian
Librarian
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu