Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks
Dictionary of African Filmmakers by
Compiled by eminent Africanist film scholar Roy Armes, Dictionary of African Filmmakers is an inclusive, comprehensive treatment of films and filmmaking on the African continent. The dictionary covers African feature filmmaking from the first locally produced films to today's thriving film industry, listing 5,415 films made by 1,253 filmmakers in 37 countries. Part 1 includes information on filmmakers and provides date and place of birth, training or film experience, other creative activities, and a list of feature films produced. Part 2 presents a national chronology, filmography, and bibliography for each country producing feature films. Part 3 indexes film titles and provides translations into English or French where appropriate. This book is an essential reference tool for anyone who wants to know more about the vibrant and exciting world of African film.
Location: OnlineISBN: 9780253351166Publication Date: 2008-07-11
Dictionnaire du cineĢma africainLocation: PN1993.5.A35 D53 1991ISBN: 2865372979Publication Date: 1991
The African film Industry: trends, challenges and opportunities for growth by
The production and distribution of film and audiovisual works is one of the most dynamic growth sectors in the world. Thanks to digital technologies, production has been growing rapidly in Africa in recent years. The case of "Nollywood", with about 2,500 films made each year, is emblematic in this respect. It has enabled the emergence of a local industry of production and distribution with its own economic model. Yet across most of the continent, the economic potential of the film and audiovisual sectors remains largely untapped. It is estimated that these sectors account for US$5 billion in revenues in Africa and employ 5 million people.
For the first time, a complete mapping of the film and audiovisual industry in 54 States of the African continent is available, including quantitative and qualitative data and an analysis of their strengths and weaknesses at the continental and regional levels.
Location: Online - Open AccessISBN: 9789231004704Publication Date: 2021
Bibliographies & Guides
A Guide to African Cinema by Location: PN1993.5.A35 R87 1998ISBN: 0313296219Publication Date: 1998-02-18
Sub-Saharan African Films and Filmmakers by Location: Z5784.M9 S32 1994ISBN: 9781873836217Publication Date: 1994-06-01
Directory of African Film-Makers and Films by Location: PN1993.5.A35 S48 1992ISBN: 0313287562Publication Date: 1992-10-30
Open Access Reference
Librarian
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies