Skip to Main Content
The Oxford Companion to Food
Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.
"France" in Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
This entry includes six subentries:
Food and Cuisine in France
Northern French Cuisines
Southern French Cuisines
Tradition and Change in French Cuisine
Wine and the French Meal
French and British Cooking Compared
A Cultural History of Food
A Cultural History of Food presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers nearly 3,000 years of food and its physical, spiritual, social and cultural dimensions.
Countries and their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization
This multicultural and interdisciplinary reference brings a fresh social and cultural perspective to the global history of food, foodstuffs, and cultural exchange from the age of discovery to contemporary times. Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement.
French Cuisine : the Gourmet's Companion
A concise guide to french menus & cooking terms including classic & regional dishes.
Grand Dictionnaire de Cuisine
The reputation of Alexandre Dumas rests chiefly on his historical novels, especially The Three Musketeers. However, it was for his Grand Dictionnaire de Cuisine that Dumas himself particularly wished to be remembered. Published posthumously in 1873, this vast and formidable work is a dictionary of culinary terms, recipes, and anecdotes, from 'Absinth' to 'Zest'.
Food Culture in the Mediterranean
Part of the 'Food Culture Around the World' series, this volume offers an insight into the food culture in the diverse culture of the Mediterranean, and discusses the role of food within religions festivals, culture and health.
Dictionary of Wine: All the French Wine Appellations, from A-Z
In this comprehensive guide to French wine, each appellation covers one or two pages in a simple and clear presentation. Colour, appearance, taste, nose, grape varieties and soil - the essential information - is given for each, as well as recommended food pairings, production volume and serving temperatures.