Related Guides
Find Books
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new windowBU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Browse Books and eBooks
Find Book Reviews
Book reviews connect you to the scholarly “conversation” or discussion of the topic and research. Authors of reviews generally are scholars in the same or similar research area. Look for longer reviews that critique the book in depth and perhaps compare it to other books on the same topic. You also can use these reviews to decide whether or not the ideas and information in the book are relevant to the thesis of your research paper.
Book reviews are published in journals. Here are some ways to find them.
Databases
Art Full Text and Education Full Text
l. Type the book title in the search box.
2. Scroll down to Document Type.
3. Select Book Review.
4. Search.
Use this procedure for all Ebscohost databases.
l. Type the title of the book in search box.
2. Narrow by: Item type=Reviews.
Boston University Libraries Search (BULS)
1. Type the book’s full title in the search box. To make sure the title is absolutely correct, copy/paste the title from the record in the search box. (This is a two-step process.)
2. Type keywords in the search box. Filter My Results > Material Types >select Reviews.
3. You can find in a BULS search reviews of books the library does and does not own. That is because book reviews generally are published in journals.
4. Example: History of Art Education: Intellectual and Social Currents in Teaching the Visual Arts
5. In the example above, you will notice that as you go down the list of reviews other book titles appear. That happens because the search engine has continued to match the words in the original book title.
6. You can limit the reviews to just your book by putting its title within quotation marks: “A history of art education : intellectual and social currents in teaching the visual arts”
7. Same as above but not filtered to Reviews.
Getting Books Not Available at BU
Interlibrary Loan does not mail books, but may email book chapters you find cited in databases or in book and article bibliographies (list of references or works cited).
