Related Guides
Images
Buildings of Massachusetts by
This latest volume in the Society of Architectural Historians' Buildings of the United States series analyzes the architecture, landscape, and planning patterns of the capital of Massachusetts and forty surrounding cities and towns that fan out from Boston Harbor. The term "metropolitan" here emphasizes both the range of the project and the importance of this area in introducing regional planning to the United States. Extensively illustrated with photographs and maps, and supplemented with a glossary and bibliography, the book assesses built form from initial colonial settlement in the 1630s through twenty-first-century additions to the Boston area landscape. The authors selected both exemplary and representative buildings and sites for inclusion. Here are structures of international reputation and buildings that characterize the vernacular housing patterns of the region. Because of the exceptional importance of the Boston area to the history of landscape architecture and city planning, those issues have been addressed in both the narrative introduction and the 640 entries. In contrast to other existing architectural guides, which do not move beyond central Boston and Cambridge, The Buildings of Massachusetts: Metro Boston canvasses the twelve sections of central Boston, its eight annexed neighborhoods, five sections of Cambridge (the district's second largest municipality), and forty surrounding communities have been examined. This volume has been designed to complement a second guidebook in the Buildings of the United States series that will focus on the buildings of Massachusetts from Cape Cod to the Berkshires.
Publication Date: 2009
American Architecture: An Illustrated Encyclopedia by
Reference book on architecture in America covering all aspects of the built environment, from construction materials and techniques to decorative terms and practical devices, from dogtrot cabin to skyscraper.
Location: Mugar Library N705 .H36 1998.
- Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey (Library of Congress) The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings.
- SAH Archipedia SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 20,000 structures and places.
- Cities and Buildings Database (University of Washington) The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.
- Paul Rudolph & His Architecture (UMass Dartmouth) Paul Rudolph was one of the leading architects in America in the 1950s and 60s. His fame spanned the time between the eras of the so-called International School and Postmodernism. His architecture was noteworthy for its unique individual style evident in all his projects, including at UMass Dartmouth.
- Frank Lloyd Wright Trust Digital Image Collection. The Trust offers a specialized collection of photographic resources available for study purposes and for publication. These images include historic photographs, restoration documentation and current photography of the Trust’s sites, as well as historic images of Frank Lloyd Wright, his family, and both historic and contemporary images of selected buildings designed by Wright’s Oak Park Studio.
- Ryerson & Burnham Art and Architecture Archive The Ryerson & Burnham Archives collect artists' and architects' papers that complement and extend the permanent collections of the museum's curatorial departments. The Archives' collections are notably strong in late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture, with particular depth in Midwest, Chicago School, Prairie School and organic architecture.
- Gottscho-Schleisner Collection (Library of Congress) The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida.
- National Association for Olmsted parks The National Association for Olmsted Parks (NAOP), established in 1980, is a coalition of design and preservation professionals, historic property and park managers, scholars, municipal officials, citizen activists, and representatives of numerous Olmsted organizations around the United States. Its concern is the legacy of landscape work left by Frederick Law Olmsted Sr. and the firm continued by his sons.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
