Skip to Main Content
Makers of 20th-Century Modern Architecture : A Bio-Critical Sourcebook
Makers of 20th-Century Modern Architecture is an indispensable reference book for the scholar, student, architect or layman interested in the architects who initiated, developed, or advanced modern architecture.
African American Architects : A Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945
ritten by 100 experts ranging from architectural historians to archivists, this book contains 160 biographical, A-Z entries on African-American architects from the era of Emancipation to the end of World War II.
Architects' Gravesites : A Serendipitous Guide
An illustrated guide to the monumental and non-monumental final resting places of famous architects from Aalto Alvar to Frank Lloyd Wright.
Avery obituary index of architects
Contains [i.e. Indexes] the obituary notices for architects from all periodicals currently indexed by the Avery Library ... [and] those in newspapers, chiefly the New York Times.
Brief Biographies of American Architects Who Died Between 1897 and 1947
Transcribed from the American Art Annual by Earle G. Shettleworth, Jr., Director, Maine Historic Preservation Commission.
Databases & Directories
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographical dictionary of notable deceased American men and women from all eras of American history. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
AIA Historical Directory of American Architects
The AIA Historical Directory helps you locate information about U.S. architects from the 19th and 20th centuries in the AIA Archives and elsewhere.
The Directory of African American Architects
The Directory of African American Architects is maintained as a public service to promote an awareness of who African American architects are and where they are located. The sole qualification for listing is licensure in one of the fifty US jurisdictions and their territories. Hosted by the National Organization of Minority Architects.
AskART Academic This link opens in a new window
AskART Academic is a database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, and some biographical details.