Skip to Main Content

American Architecture

Bibliographies & Guides

American Architectural Books: A List of Books, Portfolios, and Pamphlets on Architecture and Related Subjects Published in America [from 1775 to] before 1895. Henry-Russell Hitchcock. Bibliography of 1,461 titles organized by author with an index providing subject access, e.g., “Acoustics,” “Government Buildings.” The texts of these titles are available on 114 reels of microfilm organized by Hitchcock’s numbers. ( (Mugar Mfilm Z 5941 R4M). Mugar Library Reserve Room NA2500. H575 1976; Mugar Microform Reference (basement) NA2500 H575 1962. (The full text of many of these books is also available in the Internet Archive.)

List of Architectural Books Available in America Before the Revolution. Helen Park. Bibliography of 106 books from before 1700 to 1775 arranged by author. The texts of these books are available on 14 reels of microfilm organized by Park’s numbers (Mugar Mfilm Z 5941 R4M Suppl.). Mugar Library NA200.P35 1973. The full text of many (T of these books is also available in the Internet Archive.) 


American House Designs: An Index to Popular and Trade Periodicals, 1850-1915, compiled by Margaret Culbertson. Includes an annotated bibliography of periodicals indexed. Mugar Library NA 720 7C85 1994.
 

Architectural Preservation in the United States, 1941-1975, A Bibliography of Federal, State, and Local Government Publications, by Richard Tubesing, 1975, 1978. Mugar Library NA106 T82 1978.
 

Architectural Records in Boston: A Guide to Architectural Research in Boston, Cambridge, and Vicinity. ed. Nancy Schrock. Massachusetts Committee for the Preservation of Architectural Records, Inc. Mugar NA 735 B7A72 1983.
 

Bibliography of Early American Architecture: Writings on Architecture Constructed before 1860 in Eastern and Central United States. Frank Roos, Jr.  Most of the citations date from 1900 through the 1940’s with fewer from the l950’s and 1960’s. The bibliography is arranged by region, e.g., New England, then state, and, finally, town or city.  Mugar Library NA 707 .R66 1968.
 

Architecture and Women: A Bibliography Documenting Women Architects, Landscape Architects, Designers, Architectural Critics and Writers, and Women in Related Fields Working in the United States. Lamia Doumato. 19th and 20th centuries. Each entry provides information on archival materials, primary and secondary works, and citations to exhibition catalogs and reviews. Mugar  Library NA2543.W65 D68 1988.

 

Librarian