Skip to Main Content
Text Collections
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
The ARTFL Project consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive digital collection that aims to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. The collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Loeb Classical Library is the digital version of 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts with English translations of all the ancient authors from Homer 700 B.C.E. to Bede 700 C.E. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who used pagan culture are represented. Readers can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new window
The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women Writers Online contains full-text editions of more than 300 texts by English and American women published between 1526 and 1850. It also includes introductory essays written by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics. The site also includes links to other textual databases, and a collection of syllabi.
The Project Dialogism Novel Corpus
We present the Project Dialogism Novel Corpus, or PDNC, an annotated dataset of quotations for English literary texts. PDNC contains annotations for 35,978 quotations across 22 full-length novels, and is by an order of magnitude the largest corpus of its kind. Each quotation is annotated for the speaker, addressees, type of quotation, referring expression, and character mentions within the quotation text. The annotated attributes allow for a comprehensive evaluation of models of quotation attribution and coreference for literary texts.
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
Includes the complete Oxford Shakespeare, the 70 volumes of the Harvard Classics and Shelf of Fiction, multiple reference books and hundreds of other fiction, poetry, and nonfiction books.
Project Gutenberg
Over 50,000 books available for free. Has links to Gutenberg sites in other countries that also provide free online books.
