Literature

BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.

This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.

Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000.

Includes these indexes: 20th-Century American Poetry; African-American Poetry (1750-1900); American Poetry (1600-1900); Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature; Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700); Editions & Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911); Eighteenth Century Fiction; English Drama (1280-1915); English Poetry (600-1900); The Faber Poetry Library (20th century); King James Bible; Webster's 3rd New International Dictionary.

An index of scholarship in and related to Spanish Literature. It includes citations for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material published in Spain or abroad. It covers literature published in Spain as well as documenting critical writing related to Hispanic and Filipino authors writing prior to independence from Spain.

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Scope ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.

L'Année Philologique is the international critical and analytical bibliography of works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialities such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

Accessed via Web of Science, this database provides comprehensive data on bibliographic & citation information. Researchers can identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches notable and significant journals across more than 25 disciplines.

These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals.