Skip to Main Content
Sources of Practice Guidelines
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based reference tool containing summaries for nearly 2000 topics of diseases, disorders, and symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice provides access to the latest relevant information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions, with the the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach and covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Materials range from 1809 Onwards, with more recent decades better represented.
Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of systematic reviews on the impact of health-related interventions & treatments. Updated regularly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Materials range from 1809 Onwards, with more recent decades better represented.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
OT Seeker
Database of systematic reviews & randomized control trials for occupational therapy practice.
TRIP
A freely available search engine for clinicians that searches for some PubMed citations as well as freely available guidelines and EBP synopes, the goal being to enable you to “find evidence fast.” Aside from a basic keyword search, there is the ability to search using the PICO format
PEDro
A freely available evidence based PT database that includes clinical trials, clinical practice guidelines, and systematic reviews. Indexed trials include quality ratings.
Health Sciences Librarian
