Key Resources
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Materials range from 1809 Onwards, with more recent decades better represented.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Welcome!
This guide is geared for PhD students in Sargent College's Rehabilitation Sciences program. I look forward to meeting with you in-person or virtually to talk about:
- identifying the best databases for your research question.
- using effective keywords to find the help you maximize the amount of research you find.
- focusing in on research that informs evidence-based practice.
- tracking down health-related data or statistics.
- using citation tools such as RefWorks, Mendeley, or Zotero.
- finding information on health-related tests or questionnaires.
- identify potential journals for your publications.
- Getting started with systematic reviews and scoping reviews.
And more! Please use my contact information on the right to make an appointment. I am glad to meet with you in-person or over Zoom.
Background Sources
Principes of Rehabilitation MedicineISBN: 9780071793346
Principles of Health Occupational Therapy & Physical TherapyISBN: 9781637004807
The Evidence-Based PractitionerISBN: 9781719649582
