Selected Journals & Periodicals
The following resources are selected journals and other periodicals related to anthropology and related disciplines. For a more broad journal search, use the Journal and Newspaper Title Search.
- American Journal of Biological AnthropologyThe American Journal of Biological Anthropology (AJBA) publishes articles within an anthropological or evolutionary context in the areas of bioarchaeology, paleoanthropology, skeletal biology, genetics, human biology, and non-human primate behavior and ecology.
- Anthropology and Humanism QuarterlyAnthropology and Humanism addresses that central question of the discipline: what it is to be human. AH welcomes contributions from all major fields of anthropology and from scholars in other social science disciplines, as well as the humanities. It seeks to bring out the intricate and contradictory processes of life in other cultures--including those of anthropologists.
- Forensic AnthropologyA journal devoted to the advancement of the science and professional development of the fields of forensic anthropology and forensic archaeology.
- Medical Anthropology QuarterlyMedical Anthropology Quarterly is an international journal published by the Society for Medical Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. The journal publishes research and theory in all areas of medical anthropology.
Selected Databases
The following resources are selected databases related to anthropology and related disciplines. Visit the Databases A-Z list for a complete listing of subject-related databases.
- Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window
This database brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
- Anthropology Online This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Online brings together written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior. It is a resource for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It currently consists of 290 cultures.
