Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (CEA) The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (CEA) is a growing open-access teaching and learning resource. Its goal is to facilitate access to scholarship in Social Anthropology for experts and non-experts worldwide. All entries are written and peer-reviewed by leading academics.
- The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology is the most complete reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an authoritative and expert overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline. Over 1,000 entries, ranging from concise summaries to longer writings, present the reader with in-depth discussions of hundreds of key topics, including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education,
- The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
- A Dictionary of Cultural Anthropology This new dictionary provides concise, authoritative definitions for a range of concepts relating to cultural anthropology, as well as important findings and intellectual figures in the field. Entries include adaptation, kinship, scientific racism, and writing culture, providing its readers with a wide-ranging overview of the subject.
- Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology: Humanity, Culture and Social Life. 1994. This comprehensive survey of contemporary thought in biological, social and cultural anthropology sets the foundation for their future development and integration. The principal rationale behind the Encyclopedia is to overcome the division and fragmentation within the approaches of the humanities and natural sciences to anthropology. It emphasizes interconnections between perspectives and sub-disciplines, producing a complete perspective on what it means to be human.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Human Geography With 78 specially commissioned entries written by a diverse range of contributors, this essential reference book covers the breadth and depth of human geography to provide a lively and accessible state of the art of the discipline for students, instructors and researchers. Carefully curated by two internationally recognised scholars in the field, entries are written by both distinguished and up and coming researchers and encompass the key ideas, concepts, and theories in human geography. The Encyclopedia examines both long standing subdisciplinary fields in human geography like economic geography and urban geography, but also more recent ones such as emotional geographies and indigenous geographies, making a point about the move to plural geographies. The selection of entries reflects both the influence of established developments, such as the 'cultural turn', and new advances including the growing interest in Big Data, the more committed focus on decolonization of the discipline, and interest in research on the Anthropocene. This will be fundamental reading for human geography students, particularly undergraduates looking for a succinct and accessible resource for current thinking in the field.
- Social and Cultural Anthropology : the Key Concepts Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts is the ideal introduction to this discipline, defining and discussing its central terms with clarity and authority.
- The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. It targets a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices.
- Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology The Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology is an accessible, hands-on guide to the hundreds of terms a student of anthropology or general reader will encounter in dealing with anthropological and ethnographic literature. It includes related terminology from allied fields such as sociology, economics and geography. The focus is on key concepts in anthropology, with a number of biographies included to identify influential figures who have formulated central theories and conducted its most famous field research among other cultures around the world.
- The Dictionary of Anthropology The Dictionary of Anthropology is designed to become the standard reference guide to the discipline of social and cultural anthropology. Its core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies.
- 21st Century Anthropology : a Reference Handbook Via 100 entries or 'mini-chapters,' the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Anthropology will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
- A Handbook of Economic Anthropology Offering a new and comprehensive overview of important topics and orientations in the anthropological study of economic life, this invigorating third edition of A Handbook of Economic Anthropology addresses key changes in the decade since the previous edition in people’s economic lives and environments, as well as in intellectual interest among scholars.
- Handbook of Ethnography Focusing on the pursuit of quality in social research, the authors: explore different ways of collecting and analyzing data; introduce the main analytical approaches for text, image and sound; cover computer-based analysis; and address problems in interpretation and quality criteria for qualitative research.
- Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology The Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology, now in its second edition, maintains a strong benchmark for understanding the scope of contemporary anthropological field methods.
Peoples of the World
- The Palgrave Handbook of Ethnicity This publication provides a comprehensive and cutting edge analysis of ethnicity through diverse multi-disciplinary lenses. It explores numerous aspects of ethnicity and how it is linked to a range of contemporary political, economic and social issues at the global, regional as well as local levels.
- World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples This online directory of minorities and indigenous peoples grew out of Minority Rights Group’s encyclopaedic World Directory of Minorities, first published in 1990 and updated and expanded in 1997. This World Directory has been restructured into database format, updated and expanded, and the entire text is now available free of charge for the use of all those throughout the world with an interest in any aspect of minorities and indigenous peoples, their rights, their historical, political or geographical context.
- Countries and their Cultures Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
- Native Peoples of the World : an Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups. It highlights the complex relationships between native groups and the physical and social environments in which they live.
- Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities This study of minorities involves the difficult issues of rights, justice, equality, dignity, identity, autonomy, political liberties, and cultural freedoms. The A-Z Encyclopedia presents the facts, arguments, and areas of contention in over 560 entries in a clear, objective manner.
- Encyclopedia of European Peoples Encyclopedia of European Peoples is an A-to-Z reference to the peoples of Europe, from ancient to modern times, summarizing their origin, language, history, culture, and relationship to other peoples. This encyclopedia includes entries on all peoples that have at one time maintained a cultural identity. Thus, the reader will be able to find entries on the Gauls and Normans, but also an entry on the "French: nationality," that describes who they are today with cross-references to the various ancestral peoples.
- Historical Dictionary of the Peoples of the Southeast Asian Massif This book offers hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on about 200 groups, the six countries they live in, some of their leaders, and their political, economic, social, cultural and religious aspects. The chronology covers important events. The introduction discusses both the diversities and similarities of the groups' ethnicities, languages, religious practices, and customs.
- Ethnic Groups of South Asia and the Pacific : an Encyclopedia This comprehensive guide to the Pacific and South Asia provides detailed and enlightening information about the many ethnic groups of this increasingly important region of the world. It provides clear, detailed, and up-to-date information on each major group in South Asian and Pacific Island countries, including India, Nepal, Indonesia, Pakistan, Singapore, Australia, Tonga, Samoa, and the Solomon Islands.
- Ethnic Groups of the Americas: An Encyclopedia. 2013. Combining up-to-date information with extensive historical and cultural background, the encyclopedia covers approximately 150 groups arranged alphabetically. Each engaging entry offers a short introduction detailing names, population estimates, language, and religion.
Customs
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.
- They Do What? : a Cultural Encyclopedia of Extraordinary and Exotic Customs from Around the World This fascinating single-volume encyclopedia examines more than 100 customs, traditions, and rituals that may be considered strange and exotic to U.S. readers.
- Marriage Customs of the World: From Henna to Honeymoons An encyclopedia of marriage rites, traditions, and beliefs from around the world, ranging from ancient practices to contemporary ceremonies.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window The Berg Fashion Library includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an e-book collection, and an image database. This database covers all regions of the world with content from pre-history to the present.
- Shamanism : an Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and Culture This two-volume reference is the first international survey of shamanistic beliefs from prehistory to the present day. In nearly 200 detailed, readable entries, leading ethnographers, psychologists, archaeologists, historians, and scholars of religion and folk literature explain the general principles of shamanism as well as the details of widely varied practices.
- Aggression and Conflict : a Cross-cultural Encyclopedia Discusses many forms of aggression, including aggression by women, banditry, blood money, cannibalism, capital punishment, cruelty to animals, duels, ethnocide, foot-binding, genital mutilation, gerontocide, head-hunting, human sacrifice, initiation rites, rape, sibling fighting, song duels, suicide, and wars.
Linguistic Anthropology and Anthropological Linguistics
- "Anthropological Linguistics," In International Encyclopedia of Linguistics$ International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (2 ed.) The field of anthropological linguistics—or, as some prefer, “linguistic anthropology”—has been dominated since the 1980s by North American scholars; they are heirs to a tradition of the “four-field” study of human beings, including physical anthropology, archaeology, socio-cultural anthropology, and linguistic anthropology.
- The Routledge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology The Routledge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology is a broad survey of linguistic anthropology, featuring contributions from prominent scholars in the field. Each chapter presents a brief historical summary of research in the field and discusses topics and issues of current concern to people doing research in linguistic anthropology.
- Research Methods in Linguistic Anthropology For research in linguistic anthropology, the successful execution of research projects is a challenging but essential task. Balancing research design with data collection methods, this textbook guides readers through the key issues and principles of the core research methods in linguistic anthropology.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World A comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world.
- Handbook of the Changing World Language Map This reference work delivers an interdisciplinary, applied spatial and geographical approach to the study of languages and linguistics.
Yearbooks and Review Literature
- Annual Review of Anthropology The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
- Anthropology Book Forum Anthropology Book Forum publishes reviews of both books and films of relevance and interest to a general anthropological audience, including sociocultural, linguistic, biological and linguistic anthropology as well as archaeology and cognate disciplines. More recently, the Forum has expanded the genre of the standard book review to include different forms of conversations aimed at evaluating and discussing newly published work of interest to the anthropological community.
- Reviews in Anthropology Reviews in Anthropology is the only anthropological journal devoted to lengthy, in-depth review commentary on recently published books. Titles are largely drawn from the professional literature of anthropology, covering the entire range of work inclusive of all sub-disciplines, including biological, cultural, archaeological, and linguistic anthropology; a smaller number of books is selected from related disciplines.
