Skip to Main Content
Handbook of Cities and Networks
This Handbook of Cities and Networks provides a cutting-edge overview of research on how economic, social and transportation networks affect processes both in and between cities. Exploring the ways in which cities connect and intertwine, it offers a varied set of collaborations, highlighting different theoretical, historical and methodological perspectives.
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Futures
Brings together expert knowledge on urban and regional development. Explores the growing movement towards viewing cities and regions as complex and sociotechnical.
Global Urban Growth: A Reference Handbook
Global Urban Growth: A Reference Handbook examines urbanization and the challenges associated with rapid urban growth and urban sprawl from a truly global perspective, rather than presenting only a limited exploration of the subject by addressing a single city, country, or region. Investigating urbanization and related policy challenges as both a general phenomenon of all modern societies and one that varies greatly in different regions of the world, the book charts different growth trajectories in these societies and varying policy responses.
Handbook of Gentrification Studies
It is now over 50 years since the term ‘gentrification’ was first coined by the British urbanist Ruth Glass in 1964, in which time gentrification studies has become a subject in its own right. This Handbook, the first ever in gentrification studies, is a critical and authoritative assessment of the field. Although the Handbook does not seek to rehearse the classic literature on gentrification from the 1970s to the 1990s in detail, it is referred to in the new assessments of the field gathered in this volume. The original chapters offer an important dialogue between existing theory and new conceptualisations of gentrification for new times and new places, in many cases offering novel empirical evidence.
Encyclopedia of the City
The Encyclopedia of the City focuses on the key topics encountered by undergraduates and scholars in urban studies and allied fields. Contributors include major theoreticians and practitioners, and on other individuals, groups, and organizations which study the city or practice in a field that directly or indirectly affects the city, the Encyclopedia necessarily adopts an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary perspective. A solid but also provocative starting point for wider exploration of the city, this is a first-class work of reference that will be an essential resource for independent study as well as a useful aid in teaching.
Atlas of Urban Expansion
The Atlas of Urban Expansion collects and analyzes data on the quantity and quality of urban expansion in a stratified global sample of 200 cities.
Handbook of Emerging 21st Century Cities
The Handbook of Emerging 21st-Century Cities explores the changes that are occurring in cities, and the impacts that they are having, at the local, national and global scale. Bringing together voices from around the world, this Handbook provides an interdisciplinary view of the changes that are happening in emerging cities, examining a range of topics from both theoretical and empirical perspectives.
The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology
This Handbook contains 50 interdisciplinary contributions from leading academics and practitioners from across the world to provide an in-depth coverage of the main elements of practical urban ecology. It is divided into six parts, dealing with the philosophies, concepts and history of urban ecology; followed by consideration of the biophysical character of the urban environment and the diverse habitats found within it.
Urban Sprawl : a Comprehensive Reference Guide
Top scholars offer historical, legal, political, and socio-economic insights into the causes, effects, and solutions to urban sprawl in this even-handed account of the spreading suburbanization of America.
Urban Sprawl: a Reference Handbook
Offering a balanced overview, Urban Sprawl marshals the facts, sorts out the benefits and the drawbacks, and withholds judgment. This even-handed, up to date survey of contemporary urban development in America examines how and why a growing number of citizens are expressing concern over urban sprawl. It explains why urban development has been so haphazard, why farmland losses involve the best soil, how effective local governments have been in controlling development, what effect growth restrictions have on housing costs, if sprawl really threatens our food production, how to achieve smart growth, and more.
Handbook of Cities and the Environment
With an ever-growing majority of the world's human population living in city spaces, the relationship between cities and nature will be one of the key environmental issues of the 21st Century. This book brings together a diverse set of authors to explore the various aspects of this relationship both theoretically and empirically. Rather than considering cities as wholly separate from nature, a running theme throughout the book is that cities, and city dwellers, should be characterized as intrinsic in the creation of specifically urban-generated ‘socio-natures’.
The Urban Masterplanning Handbook
A highly illustrated reference tool, this handbook provides comparative visual analysis of major urban extensions and masterplans around the world. It places an important new emphasis on the processes and structures that influence urban form, highlighting the significant impact that public or private landownership, management and funding might have on shaping a particular project.
A Companion to Urban Economics
A Companion to Urban Economics provides a state-of-the-art overview of this field, communicating its intellectual richness through a diverse portfolio of authors and topics. Unique in both its rigor and international treatment. Contains contributions from the world's leading urban economists.
The Boston Chinatown Atlas
"The Boston Chinatown Atlas, a 15-year effort by Prof Tunney Lee, documents the origins of the Chinese in Boston and how they built Chinatown"
The Encyclopedia of New York City
The more than 5,000 alphabetical entries and 700 illustrations of the second edition of The Encyclopedia of New York City convey the richness and diversity of its subject in great breadth and detail, and will continue to serve as an indispensable tool for everyone who has even a passing interest in the American metropolis.
Handbook of Research Methods and Applications in Urban Economies
This collection of essays provides a rich assortment of methods used to investigate the complex economic, social, environmental, demographic and political systems in cities throughout the world. In this timely Handbook, more than 17 renowned contributors from Asia, the Americas and Europe provide chapters that deal with some of the most intriguing and important aspects of research methodologies on cities and urban economies.
The New Blackwell Companion to the City
This book considers the state of the city and contemporary urbanisation from a range of intellectual and international perspectives.
New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture : Volume 15: Urbanization
This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture offers a current and authoritative reference to urbanization in the American South from the eighteenth century to the twenty-first, surveying important southern cities individually and examining the various issues that shape patterns of urbanization from a broad regional perspective