Skip to Main Content
Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window
Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
China: Culture and Society (AM Explorer)
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 (AM Explorer)
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (AM Explorer)
This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 (AM Explorer)
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.
Meiji Japan (AM Explorer)
Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) was a great polymath – notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history – but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together.
Foreign Office Files for South East Asia, 1963-1980 (AM Explorer)
Published in two parts, this extensive collection of Foreign Office Files explores South East Asia between 1963 and 1980 in a time of conflict, growth and change.
1) Cold War in the Pacific, Trade Relations and the Post-Independence Period, 1963-1966
2) Foundations of Economic Growth and Industrialisation, 1967-1980
China: Trade, Politics & Culture (AM Explorer)
With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files 1960-1969 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Europe, and Asia, including reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.