Skip to Main Content
Arthur & Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.
American Antiquarian Society Library
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is an independent research library founded in 1812 in Worcester, Massachusetts. The library's collections document the life of America's people from the colonial era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Collections include books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, broadsides, manuscripts, music, graphic arts, and local histories.
Bata Shoe Museum
Discover the treasures of North America’s world-renowned shoe museum. Located in Toronto, Canada, the BSM has over a thousand shoes and related artefacts (from a collection numbering over 13,000) in architect Raymond Moriyama’s award-winning five-floor structure.
Blanche Payne Regional Costume Photograph and Drawing Collection, University of Washington
The Blanche Payne Regional Costume and Drawing Collection contains photographic prints, pattern drawings, watercolor paintings, and postcards that former UW faculty-member Blanche Payne collected or created on her research trips to the former Yugoslavia and various other countries during 1930 and 1936-1937.
Costume Institute, Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Costume Institute's collection of more than 35,000 costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
“I have worth”: female body confidence and perceptions of beauty around the world (HRAF)
Body-positivity is an increasingly popular discussion topic and moral stance in the West, addressing very real concerns about negative self-image and unrealistic, exclusive beauty standards.
Costume Society of America
The Costume Society of America advances the global understanding of all aspects of dress and appearance. We work to stimulate scholarship and encourage study in the rich and diverse field of costume.
Europeana Fashion brings together the digitised collections of more than 30 European public and private institutions.
Fashion Plate Collection, Pratt Institute
The Fashion Plate Collection consists of hand-colored fashion plates from the French periodical La Gazette du Bon Ton (considered the most influential fashion magazine during its existence from 1912 to 1925) and its American edition, La Gazette du Bon Genre. The plates in Pratt's collection date from 1914 to 1922, were created by such prominent French artists as George Barbier, Pierre Brissaud, and Georges Lepape, and anticipate the Art Deco movement of the mid-1920s.
Fashion Museum, Bath
The Fashion Museum Bath holds a world-class collection of contemporary and historic dress.
Fashion Plate Collection, University of Washington Libraries
The original fashion plates collected by Blanche Payne and others have been cataloged and carefully stored for preservation purposes in archival housing.
The History of Costume
The "History of Costume" or "Zur Geschichte der Kostüme" was printed from 1861 to 1880 in Munich by the publishing firm of Braun and Schneider. It was originally published as individual plates in a German magazine titled "Münchener Bilderbogen". Later, these plates were collected and bound into book form. The total publication consisted of 125 pages, with four pictures per pages, for a total of 500 costume designs.