Related Guides
Background Sources
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowThe Berg Fashion Library includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an e-book collection, and an image database. This database covers all regions of the world with content from pre-history to the present.
- Beauty Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia A truly interdisciplinary text, Beauty around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia presents an insightful perspective on beauty that draws from philosophy, literature, sociology, anthropology, psychology, and feminist studies, giving readers a unique view of world beauty practices. This volume offers information about beauty practices from the past to the present.
- Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance This scholarly work is the most comprehensive existing resource on human physical appearance--how people's outer physical characteristics and their inner perceptions and attitudes about their own appearance (body image) affect their lives.
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion A three-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
- Cultural encyclopedia of the body Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body is a treasure trove of essays that explore the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world that are sometimes mind-blowing and eye-popping.
- Beauty around the world : a cultural encyclopedia Beauty around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia presents an insightful perspective on beauty that draws from philosophy, literature, sociology, anthropology, psychology, and feminist studies, giving readers a unique view of world beauty practices.
- Ethnic dress in the United States: a cultural encyclopedia The clothes we wear tell stories about us—and are often imbued with cultural meanings specific to our ethnic heritage. This concise A-to-Z encyclopedia explores 150 different and distinct items of ethnic dress, their history, and their cultural significance within the United States.
- The Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through American history 1900 to the present Find out what we wore and why we wore it in The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing in American History: Twentieth Century to the Present. This fascinating reference set provides two levels of information: descriptions of styles of clothes that Americans have worn and, as important, why they wore those types of clothes.
- Clothing through American history : the federal era through Antebellum, 1786-1860 The authors have painstakingly researched such primary sources as diaries, letters and wills of the people of the time, in addition to secondary resources. Just a few of the topics include: the constant problems of getting fabrics, such as wool, or cotton, in the late eighteenth centuries; the types of clothes slave men, women and children were allowed to wear; and the beginnings of patterns and the mass production of clothing in the mid nineteenth century. The volume features numerous illustrations, helpful timelines, resource guides recommending websites, videos, print publications, and extensive glossaries.
- The Complete Costume Dictionary In The Complete Costume Dictionary, Elizabeth Lewandowski has collected from a variety of sources—including costume history texts, journal articles, historical publications, autobiographies, biographies, foreign language dictionaries, and contemporary publications—to create a resource that spans the globe, from the earliest record of fashion to the 21st century. Including more than 20,000 fashion and costume terms, this volume also features more than 300 illustrations.
- Encyclopedia of American Indian costume The Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume offers complete descriptions and cultural contexts of the dress and ornamentation of the many nations that have shared this continent. The book is divided into ten cultural regions, with each chapter giving an overview of the regional clothing.
- The illustrated encyclopaedia of costume and fashion : from 1066 to the present What distinguishes this title is its 180 color illustrations, which depict in rich detail figures representing varied social classes of European (and later American) society from 1066 to 1990. A succinct glossary and a one-page introduction provide complementary text to the parade of the ‘great years of fashions’.
- The Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through world history How people dressed throughout history often reflects how they lived at the time, and Clothing in World History gives the reader a chance to explore clothing in a given place and time while also providing a general history to help put the costumes in context. This set takes the reader on a journey from the beginning of time to present day to look at what people wore in Europe, North America, South America, and Asia. Men's, Women's, and Children's clothing from various social classes, as well as accessories, are be included.
- Clothing and textile collections in the United States : a CSA guide This Costume Society of America guide to clothing and textile collections in the United States lists 2,604 collections whose holdings include general clothing, costumes, uniforms, accessories, banners, flags, quilts. Entries include extended descriptions of holdings for more than 800 collections and black and white photographs for 245 collections.
Fashion
- The Berg companion to fashion An essential reference for students, curators and scholars of fashion, cultural studies, and the expanding range of disciplines that see fashion as imbued with meaning far beyond the material. Over 300 in-depth entries covering designers, articles of clothing, key concepts and styles. This handy volume is a one-stop reference for anyone interested in fashion - its meaning, history and theory.
- Historical dictionary of the fashion industry This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,400 cross-referenced entries on designers, models, couture houses, significant articles of apparel and fabrics, trade unions, and the international trade organizations.
- The A to Z of the Fashion Industry The A to Z of the Fashion Industry examines the origins and history of this billion-dollar industry. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on designers, models, couture houses, significant articles of apparel and fabrics, trade unions, and the international trade organizations.
- The Broadway design roster : designers and their credits his reference provides alphabetically arranged entries for the more than 2,300 scenery, costume, and lighting designers who worked on Broadway in the 20th century. It begins with the 1899-1900 season and ends with the 2000-2001 season. Each entry includes a brief biography and a list of the designer's credits.
- Research and Design for Fashion The ability to generate inspired ideas is vital in all creative industries, and nowhere is this more true than in the fast-paced and trend-driven fashion industry. A bestseller in both the UK and US, this fully revised third edition of Research and Design uniquely provides a handy and indispensable resource that will gently guide readers through the fashion design process.
- Fashion studies: research methods, sites, and practices The study of fashion has expanded into a thriving field of inquiry, with researchers utilizing diverse methods from across subject disciplines to explore fashion and dress in wide-ranging contexts. With an emphasis on material culture and ethnographic approaches in fashion studies, this groundbreaking volume offers fascinating insights into the complex dynamics of research and fashion
