Related Guides
Article, Image, & Full Text Databases
Clothing
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window The Berg Fashion Library includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an e-book collection, and an image database. This database covers all regions of the world with content from pre-history to the present.
- HEARTH: Home Economics Archive, Cornell University Library HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.
Anthropology & Social Sciences
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide access for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text provides access to hundreds of English language journals in the social sciences. About two-thirds of the journals are peer-reviewed.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Forty percent of the content is published outside of North America.
History
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window IMB (International Medieval Bibliography) indexes articles in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays, covering all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Guide to Fashion and Costume in Artstor This page highlights Artstor content related to fashion and costume, including images of historical fashion, costumes, designers, and fashion shows.
- FITDIL: FIT Digital Image Library FITDIL is an Internet-based digital repository database of approximately 64,000 digital images intended for both research and instructional use by Fashion Institute of Technology students and faculty. Limited access for guest users.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Women's Studies International indexes women's studies, women's issues and gender-focused journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and reports worldwide.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing.
Featured Journals & Magazines
- International Journal of Fashion Studies This journal fosters the worldwide diffusion of Fashion Studies, an interdisciplinary field of research that has been producing an extensive repertoire of theories, analyses and enquiries.
- Clothing and Textiles Research Journal CTRJ publishes articles in the following areas: Textiles, fiber, and polymer science Aesthetics and design Consumer Theories and Behavior Social and psychological aspects of dress or educational issues Historic and cultural aspects of dress International/retailing/merchandising management and industry analysis
- Clothing Cultures Offers a forum for the discussion of textiles and their significance in the production and consumption of clothing and solicits papers from textile historians, designers and design professionals.
- Elle Most recent 3 months
- Fashion, Style & Popular Culture This journal provides an interdisciplinary environment for fashion academics and practitioners to publish innovative scholarship in all aspects of fashion and popular culture relating to design, textiles, production, promotion, consumption and appearance-related products and services.
- Critical Studies in Men's Fashion This journal examines the multi-faceted dimensions of men's appearance. It uses the holistic definition of dress as a means of examining the tangible and intangible aspects of creating and maintaining appearance.
