Grammar / Stylistics / Pronounciation
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish by Location: Mugar Memorial Library PC4112 .B88 2000bPublication Date: 2000The Reference Grammar offers an impressively detailed analysis of Spanish grammar, with attention paid to variants from Spain and/or Latin America. Examples are primarily taken from texts written in the 1980s.- A Comprehensive Spanish Grammar by This frequently translated (originally Dutch) resource is a clear and thorough treatment of Spanish grammar in English. In the effort to be comprehensive, the grammar includes variant and contemporary usage in addition to the standard “correct” forms. Rules are illustrated from works dating from 1960 and after.Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC4112 .B7913 1995 )Publication Date: 1995
Gramatica de la Lengua Espanola by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X PC4105 .A62 1994Publication Date: 1994This is the official publication of the Real Academia Espanola, with the intent of promoting correct grammar. It covers pronunciation, parts of speech and sentence structure. There is a bibliography of texts cited, the majority of which are from the 1970s and 1980s.- Manual de Español Correcto by The first volume focusses on “Acentuacion, puntuacion, ortografia, pronunciacion” and the second on “Morfologa y sintaxis, estilo, lexico.” The author bases the rules on the judgments of the Real Academia Espanola. The intended audience is the broad range of native-Spanish speakers and foreigners who “quieran perfeccionar su espanol, etc.”Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X PC4112 .G637 1989Publication Date: 1996
3000 Locuciones Verbales y Combinaciones Frecuentes by
This extensive Spanish language reference explains the logic behind more than 3,000 frequently used verb phrases and combinations that make Spanish speech sound native. Each entry includes a definition of the phrase including its register, synonyms, antonyms, complementary expressions, grammatical patterns, and examples of how the combinations are used in easy and difficult structures. Most entries also point out other factors to be taken into account, such as whether an expression is to be used in isolation, after explaining a cause, or if it shouldn't be used at the beginning of a sentence. The book presents generative patterns for combinations based on conceptual metaphors and grammar structures, details families of expressions as separate charts, and contains an index by complement. Featuring a wide range of varieties of Spanish, this volume includes both peninsular and New World Spanish and draws on both written and spoken corpora. Based on sound research in cognitive linguistics and written entirely in Spanish, this valuable reference will be useful to advanced students of Spanish, teachers of Spanish, translators, and writers. Sample Entry ABUNDARAbundar en detalles: Ofrecer mucha informaci#65533;n. Esta expresi#65533;n se utiliza en contextos neutros o formales. En forma negativa (no abundar en detalles) se usa para expresar de manera ir#65533;nica que alguien no quiere ofrecer tanta informaci#65533;n como necesitamos. S: El informe sobre el golpe de estado V: abunda CR: en detalles sobre la intervenci#65533;n de la CIA El estudio abunda en detalles estad#65533;sticos sobre la inmigraci#65533;n, pero no explica ni sus causas ni sus consecuencias. La testigo reconoci#65533; que era amante del acusado, pero no abund#65533; en detalles sobre su relaci#65533;n. Contraste:Informal: Paquita lleg#65533; a casa borracha y con un ojo morado. Explic#65533; a su marido que se hab#65533;a ca#65533;do y nada m#65533;s.Formal: La v#65533;ctima lleg#65533; a su casa intoxicada y con se#65533;ales de abuso f#65533;sico. Explic#65533;, sin abundar en detalles, que eran resultado de una ca#65533;da. Expresiones relacionadas:1. Entrar en detalles (frecuentemente no entrar en detalles): Discutir un tema en profundidad. 'No entrar' significa quedarse fuera, por lo tanto, no entrar en detalles significa no explicar ning#65533;n detalle, mientras que no abundar en detalles significa hablar poco sobre un tema. El estudio abunda en detalles estad#65533;sticos sobre la inmigraci#65533;n, pero no explica ni sus causas ni sus consecuencias. *El estudio entra en detalles estad#65533;sticos sobre la inmigraci#65533;n, pero no explica ni sus causas ni sus consecuencias. Hasta ahora hemos tratado el tema de la absorci#65533;n de este mineral de manera superficial. Ahora entraremos en detalles. *Hasta ahora hemos tratado el tema de la absorci#65533;n de este mineral de manera superficial. Ahora abundaremos en detalles.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010-12-14
Nueva Gramatica de la Lengua Española by
Una obra acad#65533;mica panhisp#65533;nica. La primera vez que una gram#65533;tica acad#65533;mica refleja todas las variedades del espa#65533;ol La Nueva gram#65533;tica de la lengua espa#65533;ola, primera gram#65533;tica acad#65533;mica desde 1931, es el resultado de once a#65533;os de intenso trabajo de las veintid#65533;s Academias de la Lengua Espa#65533;ola. Un mapa de la unidad y variedad del espa#65533;ol, una obra pr#65533;ctica que, uniendo tradici#65533;n y modernidad, fija la norma para todos los hispanohablantes. De Buenos Aires a La Habana, de M#65533;xico a Medell#65533;n, de Los #65533;ngeles a Madrid, millones de hispanohablantes unidos por una sola gram#65533;tica por primera vez en nuestra historia. La obra m#65533;s esperada: la Nueva gram#65533;tica de la Real Academia Espa#65533;ola nos presenta el espa#65533;ol de todo el mundo, un idioma que nos iguala y nos diferencia. El espa#65533;ol de todos. Nueva gram#65533;tica de la Lengua Espa#65533;ola. El espa#65533;ol de todo el mundo. Editado por Espasa.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PC4105 .N84 2009 )Publication Date: 2010- Fonología variable del español de México.: Volumen I: Procesos segmentales by Esta es una obra sobre variación y cambio fónico. Su horizonte, por tanto, tiene que ver con las manifestaciones generales y particulares del cambio lingüístico. Aunque su núcleo de desarrollo consiste en el análisis de diferentes datos concretos, pretende inscribirse en una determinada forma de ver la variación, buscar explicaciones a los hechos específicos y, en definitiva, contribuir al desarrollo de la teoría del cambio lingüístico.Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Spelling Guides
Gramática y ortografía al día : guía con las principales novedades de la Real Academia Española by En la última década, la Real Academia Española (RAE) y la Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española han publicado tres obras fundamentales: Diccionario panhispánico de dudas (2005), Nueva gramática de la lengua española (2009) y Ortografía de la lengua española (2010). Con base en el contenido de estas obras, el autor emprendió la tarea de escribir este libro y presentar de manera didáctica, clara, sencilla y resumida algunas de las normas que más dificultades tienen para los hablantes de español. Como complemento, este libro-guía acompaña cada parte teórica con talleres de aplicación para fijar el conocimiento de los lectores.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013- Manual Práctico de Ortografía Actual by This slim volume gives basic rules for spelling; chapters have such titles as “Confusion entre B y V.” It discusses exceptions, syllabic divisions, accents and punctuation, with an emphasis on correct pronunciation as a guide to correct spelling.Location: Mugar Memorial Library PC4143 .G66 1991Publication Date: 1991
- Diccionario de Ortografía by The author presents the rules of spelling in a dictionary format. Entries are for elements of spelling and for typographical conventions that affect spelling (e.g., “acentuacion,” “macron,” “mayuscula y minuscula”). Each topic is discussed at length and examples are provided. There is both a bibliography and an index.Location: Mugar Memorial Library PC4143 .M28 1985Publication Date: 1985
