Guides to Spanish & Latin American Literature
Browse books and ebooks on:
-
Historia de la literatura española (Revised edition) byLocation: Mugar Stacks PQ6037 .R452Publication Date: 1963, c. 1948
-
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature
by
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ6033 .C36 2004Publication Date: 2005This comprehensive history of Spanish literature brings together experts from the US, the UK, and Spain to survey the range of Spanish literature from the early Middle Ages to the present day. The "classics" of the canon of eleven centuries of Spanish literature are fully covered, but attention is also paid to lesser known writers and works. -
The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel : from 1600 to the present
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2003Presenting the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present, this Companion draws on the combined legacies of Don Quijote and the traditions of the picaresque novel. -
The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature provides a thorough yet accessible overview of a literary phenomenon that has been rapidly globalizing over the past two decades. -
A Companion to Spanish-American Literature
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library PQ7081 .H353 1999Publication Date: 1999Traces the history of Spanish-American Literature, with sections on the major literary writers and works of Spanish America from the Conquest to the present, ranging from the Popol Vuh (the bible of the Mayas) to Isabel Allende's novel on contemporary Chile, The House of the Spirits. -
A Companion to Latin American Literature
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library PQ7081 .H353 2007Publication Date: 2007A Companion to Latin American Literature offers an introduction to the most significant literary works produced in Latin America from the fifteenth century until the present day.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
HLAS is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. New entries, alternating between humanities and social sciences, are added annually. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 ) and OnlinePublication Date: 2004The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Texts
-
Antología del Ensayo HispánicoLos textos que se incluyen en la estructura de esta antología responden a tres objetivos primordiales: a) son un complemento al Repertorio Ibero e Iberoamericano de Ensayistas y Filósofos; b) presentan al lector general una selección de ensayos representativos escritos originalmente en español; c) responden también a una necesidad pedagógica.
-
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de CervantesOpen-access digital library of Spanish-language historical texts and literature.
-
Literatura catalana IntraTextThe IntraText Digital Library is a full-text online library managed by experts, that publishes works with scientific accuracy. It includes books, periodicals, complete works, archives. It cooperates with outstanding religious and research institutes and organizations.
-
Textos: Comedias, entremeses, autos y másSe ofrecen estos textos teatrales gratis a los que tengan interés en el teatro español del Siglo de Oro. Todos los títulos subrayados son enlaces a textos completos de las obras indicadas. Se les concede a los usuarios el derecho de usar o citar estos textos para cualquier fin académico y legítimo.
Finding Articles
-
BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
-
Digitalia Hispánica This link opens in a new windowDigitalia Hispánica is a database comprising over 27,000 e-books and e-journals in Spanish, from publishers located in Spain and Latin American countries. Resources are organized in different subject collections, including History, Political Science, Business and Economics, Religion, Social Sciences, and Philosophy.
-
Bibliografía de la Literatura Española This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarship in and related to Spanish Literature. It includes citations for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material published in Spain or abroad. It covers literature published in Spain as well as documenting critical writing related to Hispanic and Filipino authors writing prior to independence from Spain.
-
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Scope ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
HLAS is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. New entries, alternating between humanities and social sciences, are added annually. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
-
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new windowLatino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. The collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
-
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
-
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
-
Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
The Linguistics Collection is comprised of index and full-text databases covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. The collection includes the Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), which abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. And Linguistics Database, which includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics including many titles indexed in LLBA.
Literary Biography
-
Diccionario Biográfico electrónico (Real Academia de la Historia)Find biographies on more than 50,000 individuals in Spanish history. Date coverage is from the 7th century thru the 20th century.
-
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new windowA bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
-
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
-
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
Browse books and ebooks on:
-
Diccionario Espasa literatura española
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ6051 .B74 2003 )Publication Date: 2003 -
Historical Dictionary of U. S. Latino Literature
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016U.S. Latino Literature is defined as Latino literature within the United States that embraces the heterogeneous inter-groupings of Latinos. For too long U.S. Latino literature has not been thought of as an integral part of the overall shared American literary landscape, but that is slowly changing. This dictionary aims to rectify some of those misconceptions by proving that Latinos do fundamentally express American issues, concerns and perspectives with a flair in linguistic cadences, familial themes, distinct world views, and cross-cultural voices. -
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography
by
Location: Available at Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (F2191.B55 D53 2016 )Publication Date: 2016The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography is a major biographical reference work covering the lives and legacies of notable Afro-descendants from the Caribbean and Latin American, men and women from all eras and walks of life. -
Chicana Portraits: Critical Biographies of Twelve Chicana Writers
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023This innovative collection pairs portraits with critical biographies of twelve key Chicana writers, offering an engaging look at their work, contributions to the field, and major achievements.
