Related Guides
About This Guide
This Research Guide will help you find Spanish and Latin American language and literature resources available thru the BU Libraries. Here you will find information on:
- Language resources - dictionaries and grammar books
- Background information - guides, encyclopedias, biographies
- Open Access resources including websites and digital collections
- Spanish and Latin American related programs at Boston University
Featured Resources
- Digitalia Hispánica This link opens in a new windowDigitalia Hispánica is a database comprising over 27,000 e-books and e-journals in Spanish, from publishers located in Spain and Latin American countries. Resources are organized in different subject collections, including History, Political Science, Business and Economics, Religion, Social Sciences, and Philosophy.
- Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula by Contributions of Iberian-born writers have gone largely unrecognized by most European and American readers. The rich history of literary achievements in the Iberian Penninsula is now available in this unprecedented dictionary. Defining literature in the broad sense, the "Dictionary" includes historical, religious, cultural and philosophical writings as well as prose, poetry, and drama from the Iberian Peninsula. Virtually all entries have been composed by noted scholars and are complemented wherever possible by bibliographies of primary texts and selected critical studies as well as existing English translations of primary texts. This two-volume work generally includes literature from the tenth century to the mid-1980s and--with a few exceptions--is limited to writers born in the Iberian Peninsula. A guide to determining the format of the "Dictionary" was the classic "Diccionario de Literatura Espanola" by German Bleiberg and Julian Marias. But this updated and reworked version devotes more attention to writings by formerly neglected or forgotten works by female authors and to writers in major languages other than Spanish in the peninsula, including Portuguese, Catalan and Galician. There are also entries on major time periods, movements, and other topics. Titles of works discussed are translated to English. Wherever possible, the text of each entry is followed by a three part bibliography; and some cross-referencing. The "Dictionary" will appeal to English-speaking non-specialists as well as scholars of Iberian literature.Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PN849.S6 D54 1993 )Publication Date: 1993
A Companion to World Literature by
A Companion to World Literature is a far-reaching and sustained study of key authors, texts, and topics from around the world and throughout history. Six comprehensive volumes present essays from over 300 prominent international scholars focusing on many aspects of this vast and burgeoning field of literature, from its ancient origins to the most modern narratives.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature by Location: Mugar Memorial Library PQ6033 .C36 2004Publication Date: 2005This comprehensive history of Spanish literature brings together experts from the US, the UK, and Spain to survey the range of Spanish literature from the early Middle Ages to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.
Location: Mugar Reference X F1406 .E53 2008Publication Date: 2008
