Skip to Main Content

Ralph Kirkpatrick: A Bibliography and Discography

Ralph Kirkpatrick Plays Bach

Music Recordings by Ralph Kirkpatrick

  • Bach, Johann Christian. Harpsichord Concerto in E Flat Major, Op. 7, no.5. Musicraft, c1940.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Aria variata alla maniera italiana in A minor, BWV 989; Capriccio sopra la lontananza del suo fratello dilettissimo in B flat major, BWV 992; Toccata in D minor, BWV 913; and Toccata in E minor, BWV 914. Archiv Production, 1961.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Brandenburgische Konzerte, Nos.  2,3,5. Archiv Production, 1959. Listen 
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Clavier Übung. Includes the Goldberg Variations, Italian Concerto, Six Partitas, and Ouverture in the French Manner. Haydn Society, 1952.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Clavier Übung Parts I, II, IV. Music & Arts, 1997, 1952.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Concerto for harpsichord, strings and continuo, no. 1 in D minor, BWV 1052 -  Listen :  Concerto for harpsichord, strings, and continuo, no. 2, in E major, BWV 1053 - Listen.   Archiv Production, 1959.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Concerto for transverse flute, violin, harpsichord, strings and continuo in A minor, BWV 1044; Concerto for harpsichord, strings, and continuo, no. 4, in A major, BWV 1055; Concerto for harpsichord, strings, and continuo, no. 5, in F minor, BWV 1056. Archiv Production, 1961.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Fifteen two part inventions (Clavichord). Concert Hall Society, c1940s?.  Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Goldberg Variations, Italian Concerto. Deutsche Grammophon, 1994, 1959.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. 4 Toccatas BWV 915, BWV 912, BWV 910, BWV 911. Archiv Production, 1962.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Toccata in G major, BWV 916; Fantasia and fugue in A minor, BWV 904; Fantasia in C minor BWV 906; Chromatic fantasia and fugue in D minor, BWV 903; 4 duets, BWV 802-805. Archiv Production, 1960.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Inventionen und Sinfonien, BWV 772-801. Archiv Production, 1961.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Italian Concerto and Ricercar a 3 voci from the Musical Offering. Musicraft, 1937.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Italian concerto in F major, BWV 971; Overture in the French Style, BWV 831. Archiv Production, 1963.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Partita No. 5 in G Major. Musicraft, 1937.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Ralph Kirkpatrick: the complete 1950s Bach recordings on Archiv. Deutsche Grammophon, 2004.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. St. Matthew Passion, part 1. Bruno Walter (conductor), Ralph Kirkpatrick (harpsichord continuo). Berkeley, Bruno Walter Society, 1970, 1938. Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. 6 English suites. Archiv Production, 1957. Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. 6 French suites. Archiv Production, 1958. Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. 6 Partitas. Archiv Production, 1959. Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Six Partitas. Boston Skyline Records, 1995, 1959.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Sonatas for harpsichord and violin, BWV 1014-1019. Alexander Schneider and Ralph Kirkpatrick. Columbia, 1947. Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Suite in A minor, BWV 818a; Suite in E flat major, BWV 819; 12 Little Preludes; 6 Little preludes; Applicatio in C major; and 3 Minuets. Archiv Production, 1960.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Toccata in G major, BWV 916; Fantasia and fugue in A minor, BWV 904; Fantasia in C minor, BWV 906; Chromatic fantasia and fugue in D minor, BWV 903; and 4 duets, BWV 802-805. Archiv Production, 1960.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. Vierter Theil der Clavier-Übung: Aria mit 30 Veranderungen: Goldberg-Variationen . Archiv Production, 1959. Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I . (Clavichord). Archiv Production, 2000, 1963. Listen
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I (Harpsichord). Archiv Production, 1965.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II (Harpsichord). Archiv Production, 1967.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II (Clavichord). Archiv Production, 2001, 1969.
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian. The Well-Tempered Clavier Book I  (Harpsichord). 1957 Baden-Baden Studio Recordings. SWR Classic Archive, 2018. Available on Spotify and several other streaming services. Listen
  • Carter, Elliott. Double Concerto for harpsichord and piano with two chamber orchestras. Charles Rosen, Ralph Kirkpatrick, Gustav Meier. Epic, 1962.  Listen
  • Falla, Manuel de. Harpsichord Concerto. Mercury, c1950. Listen
  • Falla, Manuel de. Harpsichord Concerto. Played with members of the SWF Symphony Orchestra Baden-Baden. 1952-54 SWF Studio Recordings, SWR Classic Archive, 2016. Available on Spotify and several other streaming services
  • Handel, George Frederic. Sonatas for violin and figured bass. Alexander Schneider, Ralph Kirkpatrick, Frank Miller. Columbia, c1950.
  • Harpsichord recital. Program: Gibbons, Morley, Purcell, Couperin, Rameau, J.S. Bach, Scarlatti. Musicraft, 1939.
  • Harpsichord recital. Program: Byrd, Sweelinck, Froberger, Pachelbel, J.S. Bach, Couperin, Rameau, Cabezon, Frescobaldi, Scarlatti. His Master’s Voice. ALP 1518, 1956.
  • Haydn, Joseph. Arianna a Naxos , English Songs. Jennie Tourel, Ralph Kirkpatrick. Haydn Society, 1952.
  • Library of Congress Music Division concert, 1944-10-28. Alexander Schneider and Ralph Kirkpatrick. Program: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Johann Sebastian Bach, Francois Couperin. Library of Congress, 1944. Sound tape.
  • Library of Congress Music Division concert, 1953-12-06. Paul Callaway, Alexander Schneider, Ralph Kirkpatrick et al. Program: Johann Sebastian Bach, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig van Beethoven, Johannes Brahms. Library of Congress, 1953. Sound tape.
  • Library of Congress Music Division concert, 1954-12-03. Program. Johann Sebastian Bach, Domenico Scarlatti. Library of Congress, 1954. Sound tape.
  • Library of Congress Music Division concert, 1957-12-13. Pierre Fournier, Ralph Kirkpatrick. Program: Johann Sebastian Bach. Library of Congress, 1957. Sound tape.
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Piano concerto no. 11, K413; Piano concerto no. 24, K491. Geraint Jones, cond. His Master’s Voice. ALP 1454. (Played on the modern piano). 1957. Listen
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Piano concerto no. 17, K453. Ralph Kirkpatrick. Dumbarton Oaks Chamber Orchestra. Alexander Schneider, conductor. Haydn Society, 1951. Listen
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Sonata, K570; Suite, K.399; Fantasia and fugue, K394. Played on an 18th-century piano reconstructed by John Challis. Bartok Records, 1953.  Listen
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord. Alexander Schneider and Ralph Kirkpatrick. Sonata in A major, K.305; Sonata in F major, K376; Sonata in A major, K.526. Columbia, c1950.  Listen
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord. Alexander Schneider and Ralph Kirkpatrick. Sonata in C major, K.296; Sonata in E flat major, K. 302; Sonata in B flat major, K. 378; Sonata in G major, K. 379; Sonata in D major, K. 306. Columbia, 1949. Listen
  • Piston, Walter. Sonatina for violin and harpsichord. Columbia, 1953.  Listen
  • Ralph Kirkpatrick. Pieces by Sweelinck, Byrd, Froberger, Pachelbel. Recorded in 1956. (Previously released by HMV:ALP 1518).  Early Stereo Recordings- Volume 3. First Hand Records, FHR60, 2019.
  • Ralph Kirkpatrick, Cembalo. Pieces by Purcell, Couperin, Rameau, Handel, Scarlatti, Bach. Deutsche Grammophon, 1966.
  • Ralph Kirkpatrick plays Bach. 1978. Videorecording. Preview
  • Ralph Kirkpatrick: The Musicraft Solo Recordings. Pearl, 1996, 1939.
  • Ralph Kirkpatrick recital at the Brussels World’s Fair, April, 8, 1958. Voice of America Music Library Collection, Library of Congress. 2004. Sound tape.
  • Les Rarissimes de Ralph Kirkpatrick. Reissue of Harpsichord Recital listed above (HMV- ALP 1518). Also includes Mozart Piano Concertos 11, K.413 and 24, K.491 (reissue of HMV- ALP 1454) (Played on modern piano). EMI, 2006.
  • A Recital of 20th-century harpsichord music. Composers: Henry Cowell, Lou Harrison, Frederick Delius, Ernst Levy, Peter Mieg, Halsey Stevens, Vincent Persichetti, Douglas Allanbrook, Mel Powell, David Kraehenbuehl. Music & Arts, 1997, 1961.
  • Saidenberg Little Symphony, Nov. 13, 1955. Voice of America Music Library Collection, Library of Congress. Johann Sebastian Bach, Harpsichord concerto in D minor; Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Piano Concerto in G major, K. 453. 1974. Sound tape.
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. Concerts at Carnegie Hall-Ralph Kirkpatrick, 1953. A film by Robert Snyder. Carnegie Hall Archives. View
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. Sixty Sonatas. Columbia, 1955. Listen
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. Sixty Sonatas. Odyssey, 1967-68, 1955.
  • Scarlatti Domenico. Sonatas for harpsichord. Concert Hall Society, c1940s.
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. Sonatas for harpsichord. Concert Hall Society, c1950.
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. Sonatas for harpsichord. Archiv Production, 2004, 1966.
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. Ralph Kirkpatrick plays Domenico Scarlatti. Urania, 2004, 1954.
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. Sonaten für Cembalo. Archiv Production,1971.  Listen
  • Scarlatti, Domenico. 16 Selected Sonatas for Harpsichord. 1954. Recordings at Krone Stuttgart, Unterturkheim, SWR Classic Archive, 2016. Available on Spotify and several other streaming services.
  • 16th-century harpsichord music. Concert Hall Society, c1950.
  • Stravinsky, Igor. Chamber Works, 1911-1954 . Kirkpatrick plays piano in the Septet (1953). Columbia, 1956. Listen
  • Stravinsky, Igor. Septet. Played with members of the SWF Symphony Orchestra Baden-Baden. 1952-54 SWF Studio Recordings, SWR Classic Archive, 2016. Available on Spotify and several other streaming services.
  • Stravinsky, Igor. The Rake’s Progress. Metropolitan Opera, Igor Stravinsky,  cond. Kirkpatrick plays harpsichord in a portion of the recording. Columbia, 1953.
  • Town Hall recital, January 22, 1952. Voice of America Music Library Collection (Library of Congress). Program: Johann Sebastian Bach, Domenico Scarlatti, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. 1974. Sound tape.
  • Vivaldi, Antonio. Concerto grosso in D minor, op.3 . Alexander Schneider, conductor, Dumbarton Oaks Chamber Orchestra. Eddie Bachmann, (violin),Bernard Greenhouse (cello), Ralph Kirkpatrick (harpsichord). Mercury, 1947.
  • Yaddo Festival concert, Sept. 4, 1938. Yaddo Music Group, ( New York Public Library). 1938. Sound tape.
  • Yaddo Festival concert, Sept. 10, 1938. Yaddo Music Group, ( New York Public Library). 1938. Sound tape.
  • Yaddo Festival concert, Sept. 11, 1938. Yaddo Music Group, ( New York Public Library). 1938. Sound tape.
  •  

Librarian

Subjects: Music