Background Sources
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Location: Mugar Reference X ; F1406 .E53 2008ISBN: 9780684312705Publication Date: 2008-05-09
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture by Location: OnlineISBN: 9780511999703Publication Date: 2006-05-28
Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts (5th ed.) by
Includes entries for Gaze/Look, Film Noir, and Zoom.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies by
The Oxford Handbooks are a major new cross-disciplinary initiative from Oxford University Press. Each volume offers a state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned, original essays from leading international figures give critical examination to the progress and direction of debates in vital areas of scholarship. Oxford Handbooks provide scholars and graduate students with a valuable new tool for understanding a wide range of scholarly approaches toward subjects in the humanities and social sciences. The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studiesi is a major new reference work that provides the best single-volume source of original scholarship on the intersection of film and media studies available. Comprised of twenty chapters by leading scholars and industry professionals, this expansive collection yields unique, fresh perspectives on a vast array of topics across these two vibrant fields. Covering film and media in the U.S., Latin America, Asia, and the Middle East, this wide-ranging compendium surveys such topics as the changing concept of "realism" in film, the European political documentary, genre theory, and more. Also exploring recent developments in media studies, with special attention to new media, the Handbook features chapters that thoroughly examine topics as diverse as copyright, globalization, television programming, video game genres, the ideologies of media, and movie-going in India. Comprehensive, current, and in-depth--The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies combines cutting-edge scholarship on cinema and media in their many forms to present an authoritative assessment of developments in the U.S. and abroad.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN1994 .O93 2008ISBN: 9780195175967Publication Date: 2008-09-08
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. When first encountering film theory, students are often confronted with a dense, interlocking set of texts full of arcane terminology, inexact formulations, sliding definitions, and abstract generalities. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory challenges these first impressions by aiming to make film theory accessible and open to new readers. Edward Branigan and Warren Buckland have commissioned over 50 scholars from around the globe to address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions. The result is a highly accessible volume that clearly defines, and analyzes step by step, many of the fundamental concepts in film theory, ranging from familiar concepts such as 'Apparatus', 'Gaze', 'Genre', and 'Identification', to less well-known and understood, but equally important concepts, such as Alain Badiou's 'Inaesthetics', Gilles Deleuze's 'Time-Image', and Jean-Luc Nancy's 'Evidence'. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an ideal reference book for undergraduates of film studies, as well as graduate students new to the discipline.
Location: OnlineISBN: 9781136472633Publication Date: 2013-12-04
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowPublished by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects.
