Exhibit Sources: Films, Webcasts, TV Commercials & Podcasts
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Film Scripts Online Volume I: American Film Scripts This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand scripts together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted.
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- AdViews, Duke University Libraries, Digital Collections The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized.
- How Masculinity is Evolving (TED Talks) Society's understanding of masculinity is changing, redefining culture and challenging long-held beliefs. These compelling talks put "manliness" under the microscope.
Podcasts
- What's Good, Man? What’s Good, Man?” is a podcast on men, masculinity, and culture. Featuring two hosts who sharpened their analyses in the worlds of Hip Hop, cultural organizing, and movement-building, it’s also a response to a specific call: men need to speak up more about issues like consent, gender violence, and sexism, especially with other men.
- Man Up: Slate's Podcast About Manhood and Masculinity Man Up is a new series that digs deep into modern masculinity
- Guys, We Have A Problem: How American Masculinity Creates Lonely Men (Hidden Brain, NPR) This week on Hidden Brain, we look at what happens when half the population gets the message that needing others is a sign of weakness, and that being vulnerable is unmanly.
- Scene on Radio: Men MEN is a 12-part series of the Scene on Radio podcast from the Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University. Producer and host John Biewen was joined by co-host Celeste Headlee for the season-long series.
Featured Films
- The Celluloid Closet (streaming, Academic Video Online) The Celluloid Closet explodes sexual myths and explores how our attitudes about homosexuality and sex roles have evolved through the century.
- Brokeback Mountain (dvd) Director Ang Lee's epic explores the lives of two young men, a ranch hand and a rodeo cowboy, who meet in the summer of 1963 and unexpectedly forge a lifelong connection. The complications, joys and heartbreak they experience provide a treatment to the endurance and power of love
- Moonlight (dvd) A young black man struggles to find his place in the world while growing up in a rough neighborhood of Miami.
- Boys Don't Cry (dvd) Believing she was meant to be a man, Teena Brandon becomes Brandon Teena and begins dating women in her hometown. Her life takes a tragic turn when her affair with a local woman and a petty act of fraud cause her deception to unravel. Based on a true story, this film is directed by Kimberly Peirce and stars Hilary Swank.
- #Metoo, now what?. Episode 3, Masculinity in crisis (streaming, Academic Video Online) Has the #MeToo movement gone too far? Find out why some progressive and conservative men think it has, while others are calling for men to step-up and reexamine the cultural meaning of masculinity and manhood.
- Guyland: Where Boys Become Men (streaming, Kanopy) In this powerful new film based on his bestselling book, sociologist Michael Kimmel maps the troubling social world where boys become men -- a new stage of development he calls "Guyland." Arguing that the traditional adult signposts and cultural signals that once helped boys navigate their way to manhood are no longer clear, Kimmel provides an astonishing glimpse into a world where more and more young men are trying desperately to prove their masculinity to other young men -- with frequently disastrous consequences for young women and other young men
- White Scripts And Black Supermen: Black Masculinities In Comic Books (streaming, Academic Video Online) A valuable and colorful examination of 40 years of changing representations of Black masculinity in a significant area of popular culture - comic books. This genre's reach and impact extended into other forms of cultural production such as movies and animated TV series.
- Afraid of dark : exploring black masculinity (streaming, Academic Video Online) Afraid of Dark, is a wonderfully insightful and entertaining, yet remarkably serious, documentary about Black men. This documentary, aims to destroy the misconceptions and stereotypes about black men that have often cost black men their lives by offering a genuine look at them from my eyes to the outside world, revealing the beauty in diversified strength, leadership and challenges; A reality that has often been distorted by others. Why is the world so afraid of dark?
- I am a Man: Black Masculinity in America (streaming, Academic Video Online) This award-winning documentary links everyday black men from various socioeconomic backgrounds with some of Black America's most progressive academics, social critics and authors to provide an engaging, candid dialogue on black masculine identity in American culture. Featuring interviews with bell hooks, Michael Eric Dyson, John Henrick Clarke, Dr. Alvin Poussaint, MC Hammer, and others.
- El hombre, cuando es hombre = A man, when he's a man (streaming, Academic Video Online) Set in Costa Rica, Latin-American men proudly describe their attitudes towards women illuminating the social climate and cultural traditions which nurture "machismo" and allow the domination and even murder of women to flourish in Latin America.
- Generation M: Misogyny in Media and Culture (streaming, Kanopy) This film tracks the destructive dynamics of misogyny across a broad and disturbing range of media phenomena: from the hyper-sexualization of commercial products aimed at girls, to the explosion of gender violence in video games aimed at boys; from the near-hysterical sexist rants of hip-hop artists and talk radio shock jocks, to the continually harsh, patronizing caricature of feminism found in virtually every area of American pop culture.
- The Bro Code: How Contemporary Culture Creates Sexist Men (streaming, Kanopy) Filmmaker Thomas Keith takes aim at the forces in male culture that condition boys and men to dehumanize and disrespect women. Keith breaks down a range of contemporary media forms that are saturated with sexism -- movies and music videos that glamorize misogyny; pornography that trades in the brutalization of women; comedy routines that make fun of sexual assault; and a slate of men's magazines and cable TV shows whose sole purpose is to revel in reactionary myths of American manhood. The message he uncovers in virtually every corner of our entertainment culture is clear: It's not only normal -- but cool -- for boys and men to control and humiliate women. By showing how there's nothing natural or inevitable about this mentality, and by setting it against the terrible reality of men's violence against women in the real world, The Bro Code challenges young people to step up and fight back against the idea that being a real man means disrespecting women.
- The Codes of Gender: Identity and Performance in Pop Culture (streaming, Kanopy) Communication scholar Sut Jhally applies the late sociologist Erving Goffman's groundbreaking analysis of advertising to the contemporary commercial landscape in this provocative new film about gender as a ritualized cultural performance. Uncovering a remarkable pattern of gender-specific poses, Jhally explores Goffman's central claim that the way the body is displayed in advertising communicates normative ideas about masculinity and femininity.
- Tough Guise: Violence, Media, and the Crisis in Masculinity (streaming Kanopy) While the social construction of femininity has been widely examined, the dominant role of masculinity has until recently remained largely invisible. Tough Guise is the first educational video to systematically examine the relationship between pop-cultural imagery and the social construction of masculine identities in the U.S. at the dawn of the 21st century.
- Tough Guise 2: Violence, Manhood, and American Culture (streaming, Kanopy) In this highly anticipated update of the influential and widely acclaimed Tough Guise, pioneering anti-violence educator and cultural theorist Jackson Katz argues that the ongoing epidemic of men's violence in America is rooted in our inability as a society to move beyond outmoded ideals of manhood. In a sweeping analysis that cuts across racial, ethnic, and class lines, Katz examines mass shootings, day-to-day gun violence, violence against women, bullying, gay-bashing, and American militarism against the backdrop of a culture that has normalized violent and regressive forms of masculinity in the face of challenges to traditional male power and authority.
- Date Rape Backlash: Media & the Denial of Rape (streaming, Kanopy) How did date rape shift from a "shockingly frequent... outrage," as Newsweek once called it, to a controversy over "crying rape," as New York magazine later labelled it? Susan Faludi, bell hooks, Mary Koss, Katha Pollitt, Neil Malamuth, and others, analyse a classical case study in media "backlash."
- The bystander moment transforming rape culture at its roots (streaming, Kanopy) The MeToo movement has shined much-needed light on the pervasiveness of sexual harassment and abuse and created unprecedented demand for gender violence prevention models that actually work. The Bystander Moment tells the story of one of the most prominent and proven of these models – the innovative bystander approach developed by pioneering scholar and activist Jackson Katz and his colleagues at Northeastern University’s Center for the Study of Sport in Society in the 1990s.
- Boys to Men? - The Meaning of Manhood in America (streaming, Kanopy) Boys to Men?- Are You Listening' is part of a series of films from Media Education Foundation. In this moving follow-up to the critically-acclaimed Hoop Dreams, award-winning filmmaker Frederick Marx continues his exploration of the lives of ordinary young men and the extraordinary challenges they face.
- Wrestling with Manhood - Boys, Bullying and Battering (streaming, Kanopy) Wrestling with Manhood pays attention to the enormous popularity of professional wrestling among male youth, addressing its relationship to real-life violence and probing the social values that sustain it as a powerful cultural force. Sut Jhally and Jackson Katz - the award-winning creators of the videos Dreamworlds and Tough Guise, respectively - offer a new way to think about the enduring problems of men's violence against women and bullying in our schools.
- The empathy gap masculinity and the courage to change (streaming, Kanopy) American culture bombards young men with sexist and misogynistic messages. In The Empathy Gap, he looks more closely at the ways these messages short-circuit menâs ability to empathize with women, respect them as equals, and take feminism seriously.
- You Throw Like a Girl (streaming, Kanopy) Former Syracuse University quarterback and NFL veteran Don McPherson examines how narrow definitions of masculinity adversely affect women and create "blind spots" that hinder the healthy development of men. Dissecting the strict set of beliefs and behaviors that underpin our understanding of masculinity, he contends that we don't raise boys to be men, we raise them not to be women, and argues that viewing violence against women as a "women's issue" not only ignores men's culpability but also conflates the toxicity of men's violence with being male. Using examples from his own life, including his storied football career, McPherson leads us beyond the blind spots of traditional masculinity and toward solutions that engage men in dialogue.
- The Mask You Live In (streaming, Kanopy) Follows boys and young men as they struggle to stay true to themselves while negotiating America's narrow definition of masculinity. Pressured by the media, their peer group, and even the adults in their lives, our protagonists confront messages encouraging them to disconnect from their emotions, devalue authentic friendships, objectify and degrade women, and resolve conflicts through violence.
Exhibit Sources: News
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). PLEASE NOTE: For articles published before 1980, please see Boston Globe (1872-1993) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
Exhibit Sources: Images
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- DPLA: Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
- Creative Commons Image Search Use this prototype to find images that you can use and remix across several open archives.
- Ad*Access The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- The Gender Spectrum Collection The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.
