Database Links
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts.
About CINAHL & APA PsycInfo
Both CINAHL and APA PsycInfo are rich sources of articles about health promotion theories and their applications. CINAHL is a general allied health database, and APA PsycInfo is an excellent source of information about different theories as they relate to healthy behavior.
Recommended keywords, keyword combinations, and phrases for searching both databases:
- health promotion theor* (the * tells the database to look for theory OR theories OR theoretical)
- health promotion methods AND theor*
- health promotion AND theoretical orientation
- health belief model
- transtheoretical model
- theory of planned behavior
- reasoned action
- social learning theory (for social cognitive theory)
- social marketing
- diffusion of innovation
- Freire AND adult education
- multi-theory model
Example of a Search
Here is an example of how you might search for articles on a health promotion theory applied to a specific intervention or program.
