Research: TM931: Readings in Contemporary Missiology: Find Historical Primary Sources

Find Primary Sources in our Historical Collections

Primary Sources : A Window to the Past

We may see historical events one way, but how did people see it back then? Have you ever wondered what people at a given point in time thought about current events and issues? You'll always need to find today's scholarly articles on your research topic, but historical primary sources can help you to explore the historical context of your topic within its own time.

Try searching in one of our historical collections to find correspondence, diaries, logs, books, journals, and newspaper articles that respond to your topic from the past!

Church Missionary Society Archive This link opens in a new window Repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential group, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. Includes records of both the CMS and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime.
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection – Series 1 This link opens in a new window Atla Historical Monographs Collection provides history and religious studies researchers with over 10 million pages and 29,000 documents focused on religious thought and practice, spanning from the 13th century through 1922.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection – Series 2 This link opens in a new window Atla Historical Monographs Collection provides history and religious studies researchers with over 10 million pages and 29,000 documents focused on religious thought and practice, spanning from the 13th century through 1922.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window Digitized images of American magazines published between 1684 and 1912. Covers history of slavery, literature, women's and religious issues, politics, culture, the arts and foreign language journals published in the U.S. Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Boston University Humanities Library Endowed Fund.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.

Instruction & Collection Development Librarian

Stacey Duran

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Boston University
School of Theology Library

617-353-5357