Journal articles are the cutting edge of academic dialogue about their given subject. They are a useful and necessary resource for nearly all academic research papers.
Articles from academic journals today are indexed in databases. This means we can go to a database, search by keyword, and find related articles from a broad range of journals indexed within that database.
BU has subscriptions to over 500 databases, ranging from general academic databases (ex: JSTOR) to subject databases in everything from art to medicine to sociology.
Below, you'll see some recommended databases for this particular course, alongside some helpful search tips. You can also visit our STH Library Databases page for more ideas.
An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
This continuously updated database includes full text for many peer-reviewed research articles, data sets, books, reports, instruments, and government documents. The collected items are relevant to early education and child care research and policy, and bibliographic information is available for many well known series such as the Head Start Family and Child Experiences Survey (FACES) and the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS).
This database includes books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations and theses, and technical reports related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21.
ERIC is a collection of journal articles, association reports, conference papers, government documents, books and other materials on education-related topics. Some items are available in full text. This database is particularly useful for public policy, curriculum studies, administration, and youth literature.
Education Full Text provides records for research articles and other scholarly materials, some available in full text, covering all levels from early childhood to higher education. Subject scope includes special education, teaching methods, leadership, global education and much more.
Education Database provides access to a large number of academic publications, including many articles in full text. The scope spans all levels of education and is particularly strong in the topics of special education, educational administration, early childhood education, and higher education.
