Find Journal Articles and More
Music
- Music Index This link opens in a new window Locate citations and selected abstracts for articles and reviews of books, dissertations, recordings, and scores, that are featured in music periodicals. All music-related disciplines are covered. Date coverage: 1970 - present.For 1948 through 1969 citations, use the Music Index in print annual volumes at the Music Library's Table 7.
- Music Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Music Magazine Archives, a collection of magazines focused on rock, folk and hip-hop published from the late 1960s to the present features cover-to-cover scanned images, including advertisements, plus searchable text. It provides a view into music, popular culture, music journalism, and social and political transition in the late 20th century. Date coverage: 1960s - present. Rights for use by Boston University community purchased through the Boston University Class of 1933 Humanities Book Fund.
- Rock's Back Pages (RBP) This link opens in a new window RBP collects full-text articles from music industry publications for multiple genres of popular music including grunge, rap, hip hop, reggae, Latin, rock, electronica, girl groups, jazz, and more. Audio interviews are occasionally included.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Use the RILM database to identify both in-depth and interdisciplinary writing about music. Conference reports, journal articles, festschriften, book chapters, recordings, critical editions, and reviews, are indexed and described in detail. RILM’s coverage is comprehensive for the current half-century and, increasingly, is expanding back well into the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Music Database features citations and selected full text of many (though by no means all) music periodicals. The database includes a number of music trade journals and magazines as well as referred scholarly music journals. Also includes a small selection of eBooks. Date coverage: generally 1990s - present.
Boston Public Library (BPL) has a subscription to the Rolling Stone Archive, which contains the complete backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to 2018. BPL eCards are available to anyone who lives, resides part-time to attend school, owns property, or works in Massachusetts.
Literature
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals. Date coverage: 1907 - present.
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Date coverage varies by publication
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters theses are included selectively. Date coverage: full text 1997 - present; abstracts 1980 - present; indexing 1861 - present.
Featured Article
Find Older Articles in Microfilm
Some of our older periodicals are only available on microfilm. It is likely that a search for articles on musicians and groups from the 1970s and 1980s will pull up citations to articles that we have access to, but only on microfilm.
In the example below I did a search for The Pogues in The Music Index.
I then clicked on the 
button to see whether we had the periodical, Rolling Stone. My results, below, indicated that we had the title, but the year I wanted was in microfilm. In order to read the article, I would go down to the Basement to Microfilms, located this title by call number, and read the article on a microfilm reader.
