Background Sources
- The Cambridge Companion to Bob Dylan A towering figure in American culture and a global twentieth-century icon, Bob Dylan has been at the centre of American life for over forty years. The Cambridge Companion to Bob Dylan brings fresh insights into the imposing range of Dylan's creative output.
- The Bob Dylan Concordance Indexes the occurrences of 8,754 words that appear in the writings of Bob Dylan.
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Typically known as "The Grove" after its most recent print version of 2001, its encyclopedic online content on people, works, terminology and sources, has been expanded to include both legacy and more recent publications of Grove Opera (1992), the Grove Jazz 2nd ed (2002), the AmeriGrove, and Grove Instruments. Notated music examples are embedded. Articles are selectively updated or added three times annually.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window With content current through 2006, the entries begin ca. 1900 with articles on people, bands, trends, festivals, albums, and the recording industry at large. Genres include jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, rock, techno, and musicals to world music. Articles contain excellent cross-referencing, useful discographies and core bibliography.
- The Cambridge Companion to the Singer-Songwriter Most often associated with modern artists such as Bob Dylan, Elton John, Don McLean, Neil Diamond, and Carole King, the singer-songwriter tradition in fact has a long and complex history dating back to the medieval troubadour and earlier. This Companion explains the historical contexts, musical analyses, and theoretical frameworks of the singer-songwriter tradition.
- Encyclopedia of Classic Rock The book covers rock artists who emerged or came to prominence in the period ranging 1965-1975 and follows their careers through the present.
- Music in American Life : An Encyclopedia of the Songs, Styles, Stars and Stories That Shaped Our Culture This four-volume encyclopedia examines music's influence on contemporary American life, tracing historical connections over time. Music in American Life: An Encyclopedia of the Songs, Styles, Stars, and Stories That Shaped Our Culture demonstrates the symbiotic relationship between this art form and our society. Entries include singers, composers, lyricists, songs, musical genres, places, instruments, technologies, music in films, music in political realms, and music shows on television.
