Related guides
People
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new windowBiographical dictionary of notable deceased American men and women from all eras of American history. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
NOTE: Includes
- Contemporary Black Biography
- Encyclopedia of World Biography
- Newsmakers
- Dictionary of American Biography (DAB)
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Covers abstracts and indexing for hearings, reports, documents and committee prints.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Online version of Encyclopædia Britannica along Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and other reference sources.
International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's WhoLocation: Mugar Reference X JA51 .F53Publication Date: 1959+Covers approximately 8,000 entries of leading world figures including, but not limited to, diplomats, heads of state, and politicians. Also gives country overviews and world organization profiles.
The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth Century Political Thinkers by
The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers aims to introduce readers to important contemporary thinkers, and through them provide an informed guide to the ideas that have influenced political activity and thought in the 20th century. Recognizing that the majority of people tend to associate an individual with a particular idea or movement, the editors have deliberately chosen a biographical structure. Each entry includes a brief bibliography, an outline of major ideas and suggestions for further reading. The difficult and sensitive question of selection has been decided on a theorists and practitioners basis, sub-divided into three basic categories: those who are actively involved in politics, those whose reflections have influenced political movements and activity; and those whose theoretical writings have enhanced our understanding. The length of entry - ranging from a short biographical note to entries of 1000 words or more - is in rough proportion to the influence the thinker has had on the political development of this century.
Location: Mugar Reference X JA83 .R725 1992ISBN: 9780415043717Publication Date: 1992-12-22
- Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign GovernmentsThe Central Intelligence Agency publishes and updates this online directory weekly. The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States. Regimes with which the United States has no diplomatic exchanges are indicated by the initials NDE.
